Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cake is amazing! Super moist. I am not a very good baker, however I am happy to say this recipe turned out great. I put the baked cakes into the freezer for 1/2 hour before frosting them -- it made frosting a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Make this superior chocolate cake, and you'll never use another recipe. You'll even stop buying cake mixes -- it's that good! A Holiday must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margaritka
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good cake! We enjoyed it very much. It was a bit too sweet for our taste though. This time I made it according to the recipe with one exception I had to substitute vanilla extract for rum (did't realize I was out of vanilla), but it ended up being very tasty. Next time when I make this cake I will slice it on 4 layers and add frosting in between 2 layers of cream cheese frosting. Also will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a competent cook and I followed this recipe to the T, but it did not come out well at all. The cake crumbled to bits long before I could even attempt to frost it. I think the problem is that the recipe only calls for one egg, which just isn't enough to bind the batter together properly. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
What earned this cake 5 stars was the icing. I am not an icing fan, but the delicate blend of sour cream/butter was wonderful. I made the recipe with only one substitution; I used milk (1%) instead of water in the batter. These made 20 cupcakes that peaked nicely, and the frosting was just enough to liberally frost all 20! I will definitely make the icing again. The cake I might play with the "fat" part, as I am not partial to oil in my cakes. (Still VERY good as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is SO good! I have made this cake twice and it was amazing both times! On the second cake I made a raspberry filling that complimented this cake so well! This is definitely my go to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Suker
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i looks excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pablito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Oh wow, this is absolutely decadent! Wonderfully soft and moist, almost like devil's food cake. I made these into cupcakes (only baked for about 15 min) and the icing is almost too thick for such a delicate crumb. I think it would be hard to ice an actual cake but it was ok for cupcakes. 100x better then a mix and not hard to make at all! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States