Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake was awesome! Moist and chocolatey, I made 2 cakes for my husband's birthday and this one was definately the winner! I did not make the chocolate frosting but instead made a vanilla buttercream. Terrific flavor cake and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very rich...and the icing was silky smooth, which made the cake easyl to ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The cake was very easy to make, but it didn't come out as moist as I thought it would from reading all the reviews. Don't get me wrong, it was good. The icing was a bit runny....this could have been something I did wrong, but hey they ate it anyway. Not sure I would make again, but the taste is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
cake was fabulous! But I find it easier & less chance of making a mistake if the ingredients are listed for each process separately. Cake ingredients & stated than frosting ingredients but some kinda distinction between them besides h=just having to read the entire process to see what is what. I speak from someone who is dyslexic & it is this sorta thing that screws me up all the time. So needless to say I was pretty confused even after reading the directions 5 times. But i adjusted for them & it cam out great But every frustrating doubt i will make it again the stress is no worth it unless I can get my BF to rewrite it for me :) that would be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiedust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tastykake
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was really an excellent chocolate cake! Delicious. Moist. Everyone who ate it loved it! The icing was a little thin, so it helped to keep mixing it for a long time. This also seemed to make a lot of icing. I used chocolate mild instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArcstrimE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
An excellent cake with the flavors of sour cream and chocolate delicately blended into a moist but not-too-sweet cake. My favorite part was the sour cream frosting, oh-so-good. I would recommend not to take any shortcuts on melting the chocolate squares and not higher than 30-PRW in the microwave oven so that the chocolate won't burn. Yeah, it takes more than a couple minutes but at least it won't turn into two ounces of briquette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcstrimE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great cake! Perfectly moist - and I really love this frosting. It's different but so tasty. I made it for my son's birthday and everyone loved it. My husband knows I made this from scratch but had to ask if this is the one I made or if it was a box mix which baffled me (why would I make two, and why would I make a box one when I made one from scratch??) but he must have thought it was very like a boxed mix - very delicious & moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is the very best chocolate cake I have ever had and it stays moist several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States