Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It was light, but crumbled easily. It didn't taste as chocolaty as I had anticipated. 1Tbsp of baking soda--really? I was doubting thinking typo, but decided I'd make it as ingredients instructed; When I ate the cake could taste the soda. For those who like it--enjoy. Maybe 1/2 Tbsp would be better, however, think I'll pick a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the best choc cake recipe, and it does not even "need" icing. Perhaps vanilla ice cream or whip cream will do nicely. We enjoy this cake just as is, however was thinking of a ganache for the super chocolate lover but we love, love this cake. Baked in a bundt cake pan, just super, thanks so much..rt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderfully moist thanks to the addition of sour cream. This cake turned out light, fluffy, and perfectly indulgent. This is THE chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this cake. It's so moist and delicious, both my kids and husband loved it. I read the reviews and one commented that it was too sweet. So I used bakers unsweetened chocolate squares instead and it came out great. I also used the easy glaze recipe on this site that uses 1 can sweet condensed milk and 1 cup of chocolate chips and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestdumplings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The frosting is AMAZING, delicious, try it!!! The cake on the other hand is not worth the try I always prefer the "Black Magic Cake" instead but with this amazing frosting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am not very good at baking, this cake recipe is wonderful. It was easy... it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horse Show Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe. I have been experimenting with chocolate cake recipes to find one that my husband loved. This was hands down...his favorite. I did use a basic butter cream frosting rather than the chocolate. The only downside is the number of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I DIDN´T CARE FOR THE CAKE PART, BUT THE FROSTING IS SO GOOD. I HAD DOUBTS WHEN I START MIXING THE SUGAR POWDER WITH THE BUTTER, BECAUSE IT START TO LOOK LIKE CRUMBLES, I THOUGHT IT WAS TOO MUCH SUGAR, AND AFTER ALL, I DON´T LIKE SWEETS TO BE THAT SWEET, I REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF SUGAR, AND IT TURNS OUT GREAT. I RECOMMEND TO WHIP THE CREAM BEFORE ADDING IT TO THE BUTTER, IT MUST BE REALLY COLD, AS IF YOU MADE YOUR OWN WHIPPED CREAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The best chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
this is THEE PERFECT chocolate cake recipe......nothing else needs to be said !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States