Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was one of the best cakes I have ever made. Maybe I haven't looked hard enough, but I have never found a cake recipe that I like better than a cake-mix cake...until today. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the chocolate frosting and made a cream cheese one instead (my husband's request- it was his birthday so I had to!). The cake was moist, and the flavor was outstanding. I did not have two 8 inch cake pans so I used 9 inch pans instead and cooked it for 25 minutes. It was great! The cream cheese frosting complemented the chocolate cake nicely, though next time I will definitely try the frosting as written because if it is anywhere near as good as the cake I'm sure I will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious cake! moist, sweet enough...divine..made some additions: 3/4 tsp instant coffee, pinch of salt and didn't use the icing on the recipe, instead used home made fudge....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake is, indeed, wonderful. Time consuming, but definitely worth it. The only change I made was to use a cup of brewed coffee instead of a cup of water in the batter. I would make this moist, chocolaty cake again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This cake is amazing. Not really sweet than I suspected it would but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious cake! Some people complained about it being too crumbly, so I added an extra egg. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made cupcakes with this recipe and they turned out great! They were very light and moist and had a good chocolate flavor. It's more time consuming than box mix, but very well worth it! The only difference I made was lessening the granulated sugar by just a tad (maybe 1 tsp). I did this because a few reviews mentioned the cake being too sweet and since I used a buttercream frosting, I didn't want the sweetness to be overwhelming. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe was great! I added a little bit more sour cream to the batter, and instead of a layer cake I put it in a bunt-shape. It turned out amazing! The batter was smooth and creamy, and the cake turned out incredible. It was moist and delicious; not too sweet, and very chocolatey. I used half the sugar in the frosting, and it was perfect. I topped the cake with strawberries and chocolate shavings. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made the cake and it turned out fine but the frosting was a nightmare. I attempted twice to make the frosting but both times it turned out completely lumpy and would not smooth out even with copious amounts of mixing. I sifted all the ingredients the second time thinking that the frosting was lumpy because of unsifted powdered sugar or cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This cake was not as chocolatey as I expected. There is a flat taste to it and I believe it is because of the massive amount of baking soda. The cake is moist. Tossing in a cup of semi-sweet morsels to the batter would help the flavor. The recipe calls for two 8 inch round pans but would be better in two 9 inch. There was too much batter for 8 inch pans so they came out with muffin tops. The baking time for me was over 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It was light, but crumbled easily. It didn't taste as chocolaty as I had anticipated. 1Tbsp of baking soda--really? I was doubting thinking typo, but decided I'd make it as ingredients instructed; When I ate the cake could taste the soda. For those who like it--enjoy. Maybe 1/2 Tbsp would be better, however, think I'll pick a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States