Daisy Brand Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Super easy to make, not very pretty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
If you are looking for a crisp, chocolate cookie, these are not the cookies for you. These are a fudgy little mound of a cookie, much like a fudge brownie. I used dark chocolate chips for the batter, but semi-sweet chocolate for the drizzle. I’m a chocolate fanatic, so these were perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Not so great as a cookie for me because it's too soft. I prefer crunchy cookies. But this recipe did make a great cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. Cookies came out fine, very cake-like. They are fairly basic and I also will drizzle them with something on top, to make them more festive and interesting for taste and aesthetics. Easy to make, but not sure if I will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So, I gave this a daring shot, substituting the chips for Hershey's unsweetened cocoa. I added some shortening and some sugar to give it an even balance of sweetness and a decent melted chocolatey-texture (Hershey tells you how to do it on the back of the container). So I never had to heat up the burners =) From here I followed the recipe pretty much as it reads. Make sure to watch them while they cook, The can be just as easily undercooked as over baked. Again, I did not have chips to work with, so for the topping, I just made frosting the same way (like the chocolate), adding a bit of vanilla extract, about 1/3 cup of milk, and 1/2 a cup of butter. dont forget the sugar, We don't eat sugar too much, so we used about 1/2 a cup to start and went from there by tasting it! Make sure to beat it by had first a bit with a whisk, and then pull out the electric beater. what a wonderful consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious! Even turned out good with whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Much better with the optional topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmessi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I just made these, and they are not all that tasty. I don't know if I forgot to put something in, but they are kind of boring. I did so the chocolate drizzle and that did help a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was a little nervous to make this with no reviews but I had just the right amount of leftover ingredients and thought I'd give it a go. The cookies are cooling right now and they are just as the recipe describes: not too sweet but chocolatey with a hint of tang from the sour cream. I used full fat Daisy sour cream and half a bag of Nestle bittersweet chocolate chunks. I didn't alter the recipe and followed the directions to the letter and they came out great. Letting the mixture sit for ten minutes prior to putting on the baking sheets is KEY. Otherwise you'll have a goopy mess on your hands! I didn't try the topping but plan to sprinkle some powdered sugar on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States