Dairy Free Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is a staple in our home. Our son is allergic to dairy and egg so finding good recipes can be a challenge particularly for breakfast food. I use an egg substitute in this recipe and they come out perfect every time. They are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside just the way that pancakes should be. My little one gobbles them up and so does my big boy (husband)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I have made this recipe numerous time and they always turn out great. I increased the almond extract to 1 teaspoon and added blueberries. I freeze the whole batch in ziploc bags and pull them out as needed for a snack before running or going to the gym. They're great with or without syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great taste! I left out the salt, changed the sugar to honey, and omitted the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
These are yummy - just like cookies! They're very light and fluffy too. I bet they'd be good with strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Great!!! Wow, a receipe that I can use that soy milk!!! I just love this receipe I can use that soy milk that my husband bought me (under protest)!!! It is delicious, & I can make this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
My mother used to make us whole wheat pancakes when I was younger and they were always dense and horrible so I didn't have high expectations for this recipe. Fortunately I was wrong! These pancakes came out fluffy and delicious. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I have been looking for a healthy pancake recipe that made thick fluffy pancakes and this is it! I made a few alterations to make it even healthier. First I used 3 oz. flaxmeal and 1 oz. oil instead of the 1/4 C. oil. I didn't have wheat germ, so I used almond flour instead. And since I didn't have soy flour, I used 1 tbsp. black bean flour (which is extremely high in fiber). I also increased the almond extract to 1/2 tsp. In spite of all of these changes, the pancakes were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I thought this recipe was excellent. My four year old wants to have pancakes like every other day and now I don't have to tell him no. These are high in fiber and really healthy. The only adjustment I would make next time would be to use vanilla extract instead of the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I love this recipe. I add 1 t. of almond extract as well. I think it really highlights the whole wheat flavor. In place of the 1/4 wheat germ I have always used uncle sam's brand cereal you can buy in the healthy section of Walmart. It gives the pancakes a bit of a crunch from the flaxseed. Couldnt say more wonderful things about this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Since I didn't have a few of the ingredients, I substituted. For wheat germ, I used ground up oatmeal. For soy flour, I used more whole wheat flour. For canola oil, I used olive oil. For soy milk, I used rice milk. And then, I only had two eggs and it still turned out delicious! Imagine that! :) I also added strawberries and maple syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kealakekua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States