Dairy Free Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I didn't have any almond extract so tried it with maple extract...also cut back on sugar and did not add salt. The sugar I used is lavender flavoured and added a unique flavour to the pancakes. I ate them dry they were so YUMMY! Also, I have a dairy allergy so used water instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I did not have soy flour, I just added three more tablespoons of whole wheat flour. I also used vegetable oil instead of canola oil and lactose-free milk instead of soy milk because I'm on a tight budget and I need to use what I have on hand. I did not try these myself but my husband and kids said they were really good--they must have been, they ate almost all of the pancakes I made! I will say they turned out really fluffy and light, even though made with whole wheat flour and wheat germ. VERY hearty. I served them with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. NOTE: I might try substuting applesauce for the eggs next time, just to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious, fluffy pancakes. I make them regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'm always a little torn about how to rate a recipe that I tweaked so much. These tasted great and were perfectly fluffy even with my changes, and I love that this is the only recipe I've come across that uses THIS much whole wheat flour. Alterations: I didn't have wheat germ, so I used about an 1/8 cup nutritional yeast and 1/8 cup chopped walnuts (no particular reason why, just had these things on hand); I used unbleached white flour instead of soy flour; I used vegetable oil instead of canola; I used 1/2 tsp vanilla instead of the almond extract. I also added blueberries. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These pancakes are very heavy. They fill you up fast & taste o.k. but they are a little too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These pancakes came out great but i did use a vanilla flavored soy milk to add a little flavor and i didnt have soy flour so i only used the wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Made a few changes to fit my family's taste. 1 c wwpf, 1 T white cornmeal +1 T yellow cornmeal + unbleached ap flour = 1 c, 3 T ground flax seeds, 1 T sugar, and I left out the soy fl cause i didn't have any. Also used olive oil instead of canola and vanilla extract instead of almond. Very good. Will probably play with it more to make a multi grain pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great taste! I left out the salt, changed the sugar to honey, and omitted the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I made one a adjustment to suit my vegan lifestyle...instead of three eggs i substituted 3 tablespoons of grounded flax seed and 1/2 cup of water...Best Pancakes ive had in a long time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These tasted alot like almond and eggs except they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States