Dairy Free Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have been making this for forty years, but with dairy! It is delicious! These are my changes: I always add a couple of dashes of cinnamon to the batter for a better color and zip. I add more sugar because I like a sweeter dough. We love the streusel topping, so I always make way more of that and also put walnuts or pecans in. Finally, these are GREAT as mini-muffins or regular muffins. They look spectacular but only take a couple of minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelli220
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was quick and easy! The cake is so light and sweet, you don't feel like you are over-doing it. I made a sugarfree version and instead of topping it off with streusel before baking, I sprinkled it on with about 7 min left in the oven and poured warm sugarfree icing on top after I pulled it out to cool! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeHeaven
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I played around with this and it turned out pretty good. I would recommend apple sauce for a moister cake. I like a sweet batter also, as another member suggested. I used Krusteaz brand pancake mix and added an additional 2/3 cup of white sugar. I also added cinnamon to the batter as well. Instead of using soy milk, I used 2/3 cup of sugar free vanilla coffee creamer and 1/4 cup of regular milk. I also added 1 Tbl of vanilla for more flavor. Flavor was really good, I only wished I had included the apple sauce also. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
So good! I added applesauce, cinnamon and nutmeg and couldn't have been happier with the result! I brought it for a class at school and my friends couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oreo6232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Easy to make, tasty cumbly topping, but as others have remarked the cake portion is a bit on the dry side even with added yogurt and vanilla extract. :( Tonight I have added 1/3 cup crushed pineapple, 2 bananas, 2 tbsp greek yogurt, and a tsp of vanilla extract so we'll see if that loosens up the batter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very good... too bad it isn't gluten free as well. Good thing I made it before my sister and brother were gluten free, just dairy free. But I would definitely recommend this to anybody who is just dairy free. One change: We don't like soy milk, so we substituted with vanilla rice milk. It was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My roommates and I made this tonight for dessert. It was really delicious! My only complaint is that it was a little bit dry, but it was a nice way to use bisquick in a way other than pancakes or biscuits. It was also pretty affordable for a college budget. I would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have made this before and its wonderful. Just a note. One of the reviewers claims there is dairy in bisquick. There is not. My husband is lactose intolerant so we are very careful. There is nothing in the ingredients that would signal there is any dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Good recipe. I used Stevia in place of sugar & added 1/2 cup of pumpkin, 1/2 cup applesauce, & raisins to batter. I exchanged the soy milk for a little water & plain yogurt. Enjoyed it for breakfast this morning:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I made this for the first time today. I made some alterations to the recipe as i always do with everything i make. I added jam to the batter and made it a marble coffee cake and drizzled frosting from powdered sugar and butter came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States