Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Not just the best vegan pudding, but the best pudding I've ever had! I did add a little extra sugar because it wasn't quite sweet enough for me. Still a great recipe. Definatly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This recipe was VERY good. I always follow recipe measurements exactly as listed the first time. It would definitely work better with 1/3 cup sugar. Lightly pack the baking cocoa for a great chocolately taste, and stir it all using a whisk to help ensure a smooth texture. My daughter and I are ALLERGIC to MILK PROTEIN, which means that we can't even have some stuff marked as "lactose-free" (I prefer breathing). Kathleen, THANK YOU for providing a great recipe! This is quick, easy, and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My milk allergic son really enjoyed this and the texture was the same as milk based pudding. I didn't taste it but if my picky 6 year old liked it, then its 5 stars for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I thought this was great. Very creamy and rich. I decided to make mine sugar free and added four packets of sugar substitue in place of the granulated sugar. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I made this recipe just to try a dairy free pudding and it was really good. It was not like my usual very milk-chocolately and sweet pudding, but it was a great darker chocolate pudding. A GREAT dairy free alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
FANTASTIC! This is the best pudding! I used chocolate soy milk for added yumminess.(is that a word?) Perfect treat for the dairy free home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
It's a shame that the last reviewer only rated the recipe three stars because she didn't know how to keep the corn starch from clumping, because she did like the recipe. Since there have been no other reviews until mine I'm assuming her three star revies has kept others from trying it. Well here's a completely positive review! The pudding was fantastic and still is, I'm gulping it down as I write. It's rich and you can't even tell there's no dairy! Great for Vegans like me and even for you Dairy Lovers out there! There's no difference in aste or texture between this recipe and your typical chocolate pudding recipe except this is better. I'll never even consider store bought again! To prevent the corn starch from clumping once added to the hot mixture you just need to make sure that the corn startch and water mixture are completely stirred together with no globs of corn startch left, it needs to be completely smooth. If that part is done correctly, and it's not hard, there will be no clumping. The only other way that cornstartch will clump is when it's added directly to a hot mixture, so always mix it first with a liquid until smooth or add cornstarch directly to what ever you're making, but make sure the mix you are adding it to is cold or cool. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This pudding was excellent! My daughter is allergic to dairy products, and this made a very tasty treat. Although, I ate most of it myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I have zero probs with this recipe. It's worked as an easy, last-minute dessert for me many a time, and it has the added bonus of being dairy free! (The Lactose Intolerant rejoice) Don't judge it by its stars. Try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbilina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Ok it doesn't taste exactly like the usual milk chocolate pudding but it's pretty darn good. I agree with previous reviewers that the texture is not a problem if you dissolve the cornstarch in water first and add it to the mixture before it boils. Secondly, to make it a bit sweeter, I used 1/3 cup suger instead. To give it more chocolate flavor, I added some (less than a quarter cup) of vegan chocolate chips. That last step gives is a rich chocolate flavor that cocoa lacks. I made it with rice milk instead of soy for my allergy kids and the texture was perfect. Rice milk lacks that strong soy taste that many are not fond of. Next time I might add a 1/2 tsp of vanilla instead of a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States