Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
It's a shame that the last reviewer only rated the recipe three stars because she didn't know how to keep the corn starch from clumping, because she did like the recipe. Since there have been no other reviews until mine I'm assuming her three star revies has kept others from trying it. Well here's a completely positive review! The pudding was fantastic and still is, I'm gulping it down as I write. It's rich and you can't even tell there's no dairy! Great for Vegans like me and even for you Dairy Lovers out there! There's no difference in aste or texture between this recipe and your typical chocolate pudding recipe except this is better. I'll never even consider store bought again! To prevent the corn starch from clumping once added to the hot mixture you just need to make sure that the corn startch and water mixture are completely stirred together with no globs of corn startch left, it needs to be completely smooth. If that part is done correctly, and it's not hard, there will be no clumping. The only other way that cornstartch will clump is when it's added directly to a hot mixture, so always mix it first with a liquid until smooth or add cornstarch directly to what ever you're making, but make sure the mix you are adding it to is cold or cool. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I had doubts....but not anymore. I used rice milk and it came out delicious. I added a little extra vanilla, used the recommended 1/3 cup sugar and it was fabulous. To prevent any clumps I mixed the cornstarch in the water first and then blended everything before heating....Smooth and Yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I found that instead of mixing the water and the cornstarch, you should mix the sugar, cornstarch and cocoa powder together, then whisk that into the milk and water, and you will not get lumps. Also, you should put plastic wrap touching the top of the pudding to prevent that gluey mess on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is great for what it is!! I like it better than chocolate pudding from the little cardboard box that's mixed with milk. I read the reviews first and made a few changes: First, I used chocolate soy milk instead of normal because that's what I already had in the refrigerator, and I added 1/3 a cup of sugar because some people had said it was bitter. I also put in some cinnamon because I like cinnamon. I put it all in the food processor and gave it a whirl to get the cocoa mixed in, I think maybe that step should be added to the directions! That kept the texture perfectly smooth, and like some others have said, make sure that the cornstarch and cold water are completely mixed up before you add it to the rest of the stuff. Next time, I'm going to add a little less cornstarch and more sugar, then I think it will be perfect :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was pretty good though I could not keep the cocoa from clumping together. Next time I'll mix it with a blender or mixer before heating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I thought this was great. Very creamy and rich. I decided to make mine sugar free and added four packets of sugar substitue in place of the granulated sugar. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
super de-lish! insanely easy AND quick to make! tastes just like the pudding i used to have when i was a kid! i used "Silk" plain soymilk and Hershey's unsweetend cocoa powder. make sure to mix the corn starch in COLD water in a seperate bowl before adding to the heated saucepan (this prevents clumping). YUMMY YUM YUM! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This pudding was excellent! My daughter is allergic to dairy products, and this made a very tasty treat. Although, I ate most of it myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My daughter is very restricted with how much dairy she can have. This recipe works very well for her. I have found that while I can use rice, almond, or soy milk, soy milk makes it set up the best, although vanilla almond milk makes it TASTE the best. Also, I just use an ounce of melted unsweetened chocolate instead of cocoa, it gives a richer flavor. Also, I increased the sugar to 1/3 of a cup. Both of these adjustments made a very good recipe excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a fantastic alternative. I'm not vegan or lactose intolerant, I just like eating healthy. I wanted to make homemade pudding, but when I looked recipes up it called for eggs and such. I just wanted to keep it simple and healthy. This recipes provides just that. Its great tasting and can easily be changed around a little bit to make it more interesting. The first night I made it, I pretty much stuck to the recipe but I used dark chocolate almond milk instead of soy...it was simple and delicious. However, the second time, my boyfriend added a little peanut butter and a handfull of chocolate chips...that too was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States