Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Great pudding... but the cornstarch clumped up when added to the soy milk mixture. Does anyone know how to fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
It's a shame that the last reviewer only rated the recipe three stars because she didn't know how to keep the corn starch from clumping, because she did like the recipe. Since there have been no other reviews until mine I'm assuming her three star revies has kept others from trying it. Well here's a completely positive review! The pudding was fantastic and still is, I'm gulping it down as I write. It's rich and you can't even tell there's no dairy! Great for Vegans like me and even for you Dairy Lovers out there! There's no difference in aste or texture between this recipe and your typical chocolate pudding recipe except this is better. I'll never even consider store bought again! To prevent the corn starch from clumping once added to the hot mixture you just need to make sure that the corn startch and water mixture are completely stirred together with no globs of corn startch left, it needs to be completely smooth. If that part is done correctly, and it's not hard, there will be no clumping. The only other way that cornstartch will clump is when it's added directly to a hot mixture, so always mix it first with a liquid until smooth or add cornstarch directly to what ever you're making, but make sure the mix you are adding it to is cold or cool. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was pretty good though I could not keep the cocoa from clumping together. Next time I'll mix it with a blender or mixer before heating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
although it was easy to make, i wasn't all that pleased with the taste or texture of the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
super de-lish! insanely easy AND quick to make! tastes just like the pudding i used to have when i was a kid! i used "Silk" plain soymilk and Hershey's unsweetend cocoa powder. make sure to mix the corn starch in COLD water in a seperate bowl before adding to the heated saucepan (this prevents clumping). YUMMY YUM YUM! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
Unfortunately, I had the same problem with my chocolate clumping. As for taste, I liked it but thought it could have been sweeter. It's a very dense pudding compared to instant kinds-I couldn't finish 1 serving. If I make this pudding again, I think I'll add more sugar and get the clumps out of the chocolate BEFORE I put it in the saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I thought this was great. Very creamy and rich. I decided to make mine sugar free and added four packets of sugar substitue in place of the granulated sugar. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I made this recipe just to try a dairy free pudding and it was really good. It was not like my usual very milk-chocolately and sweet pudding, but it was a great darker chocolate pudding. A GREAT dairy free alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Not just the best vegan pudding, but the best pudding I've ever had! I did add a little extra sugar because it wasn't quite sweet enough for me. Still a great recipe. Definatly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This recipe tasted very bad. There certainly needed to be more sugar to flavor the unsweetened cocoa, but there was also a problem with the soymilk. I know in preparing steamed espresso drinks with soy, you can not allow the soymilk to become too hot or it will begin to seperate and become salty. I think that was the problem with this recipe. Perhaps the soymilk should be added later in the cooking process to prevent the milk from becoming too hot and separating? I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States