Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This recipe was VERY good. I always follow recipe measurements exactly as listed the first time. It would definitely work better with 1/3 cup sugar. Lightly pack the baking cocoa for a great chocolately taste, and stir it all using a whisk to help ensure a smooth texture. My daughter and I are ALLERGIC to MILK PROTEIN, which means that we can't even have some stuff marked as "lactose-free" (I prefer breathing). Kathleen, THANK YOU for providing a great recipe! This is quick, easy, and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Ok it doesn't taste exactly like the usual milk chocolate pudding but it's pretty darn good. I agree with previous reviewers that the texture is not a problem if you dissolve the cornstarch in water first and add it to the mixture before it boils. Secondly, to make it a bit sweeter, I used 1/3 cup suger instead. To give it more chocolate flavor, I added some (less than a quarter cup) of vegan chocolate chips. That last step gives is a rich chocolate flavor that cocoa lacks. I made it with rice milk instead of soy for my allergy kids and the texture was perfect. Rice milk lacks that strong soy taste that many are not fond of. Next time I might add a 1/2 tsp of vanilla instead of a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I have zero probs with this recipe. It's worked as an easy, last-minute dessert for me many a time, and it has the added bonus of being dairy free! (The Lactose Intolerant rejoice) Don't judge it by its stars. Try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbilina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This pudding was excellent! My daughter is allergic to dairy products, and this made a very tasty treat. Although, I ate most of it myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is great for what it is!! I like it better than chocolate pudding from the little cardboard box that's mixed with milk. I read the reviews first and made a few changes: First, I used chocolate soy milk instead of normal because that's what I already had in the refrigerator, and I added 1/3 a cup of sugar because some people had said it was bitter. I also put in some cinnamon because I like cinnamon. I put it all in the food processor and gave it a whirl to get the cocoa mixed in, I think maybe that step should be added to the directions! That kept the texture perfectly smooth, and like some others have said, make sure that the cornstarch and cold water are completely mixed up before you add it to the rest of the stuff. Next time, I'm going to add a little less cornstarch and more sugar, then I think it will be perfect :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Gag city!!! I won't even say what it tasted like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Sadly , not the best. Needs to be sweeter and more choclatey. I probably wont ever make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe as I Had some soy milk due to having irritable syndrome. I only abstain from dairy products while my insides have flared up. I have enver used soy milk before until recently. This recipe was gross. I carefully mixed the water and cornstarch and the pudding was nice and smooth, but it tasted horrible. I am too used to rich yummy tasting puddings with real milk or cream. It seems that anything I try with soy milk tastes awful. It's not the diet for me. Someone who is used to a soy diet might love this recipe so don't be put off by my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This recipe tasted very bad. There certainly needed to be more sugar to flavor the unsweetened cocoa, but there was also a problem with the soymilk. I know in preparing steamed espresso drinks with soy, you can not allow the soymilk to become too hot or it will begin to seperate and become salty. I think that was the problem with this recipe. Perhaps the soymilk should be added later in the cooking process to prevent the milk from becoming too hot and separating? I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Not just the best vegan pudding, but the best pudding I've ever had! I did add a little extra sugar because it wasn't quite sweet enough for me. Still a great recipe. Definatly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States