Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Like others I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and I followed the microwave directions someone else had discovered of 1 min stir another min stir, another min stir, 20 sec, 20 sec (at that time it didn't change any so I called it done) and stuck it in the freezer to quick chill. Taste was there...but unlike store bought puddin cups it had kinda a rubbery texture...but the flavor was there...IDK if reducing the amount of corn starch would fix the rubber problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classicmustangchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'm not sure what to rate this because the idea is there and it definitely tasted good while it was cooking but after cooling it was not sweet enough. I used almond milk instead of soy and it was smooth and looked great. I'll try this again and double the sugar and repost a review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We thought this was delicious! I did modify it a bit (used ground choc. chips instead of cocoa pwdr, scraped a vanilla bean into the mixture before cooking, and added a pinch of salt), and also doubled it, but it was rich and creamy and the children, husband, and guests never guessed it was dairy-free! THanks Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was delicious - thanks! I read over a lot of the postings beforehand, so I mixed together the dry ingredients first, before whisking in the wet ones, to avoid lumps. I also added 1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips for extra sweetness and chocolate flavor. Very good by itself or in a graham cracker pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very good considering I have attempted several dairy-free chocolate pudding recipes. This is one I would make again. Good consistency and very chocolatey tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Loved this recipe. I am not a vegan and I still used regular milk, but the flavor is good. I did mess up with the cornstartch (I don't usually use it) and the cocoa balled up some, but nothing a little sifting can't handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Quite good. It might be worth mentioning that I was able to make this in the microwave without issue (it saved the [minimal] effort of washing a saucepan). I just mixed all of the ingredients in a microwave-safe container and cooked on high for three minutes, stirring at the one and two minute marks, and then every twenty seconds or so until it had thickened fully. I fear I'll be making this with some regularity, from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The first time I made it I found the original recipe to be too thick and lumpy. So the 2nd time I reduced the cornstarch to 2 TBS and made sure that the cornstarch was completely dissovled in the water with no lumps before adding it to the milk. Then I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was soooo yummy, AFTER it was chilled. before it was chilled it was very bland so I definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge overnight. I added a couple tablespoons more sugar than it called for and added some dairy free chocolate chips because I think it lacked the chocolate flavor that I was craving, but that was a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I REALLY enjoyed this pudding recipe and it was so simple! And vegan! I did increase the sugar to 1/3 cup and also added an 1/8 tsp of orange extract which gave the pudding a wonderful 'chocolate orange' flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States