Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I'm not a big fan. It was a bit too bitter for me and very very lumpy. I whisked it for a long while but the lumps just wouldn't go away! I'll keep looking for a different recipie. It's a good start at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This came together so quickly. I used 1/3 cup sugar and I am glad I did. It still isn't sweet enough for the kids, but, I think it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this stuff! I used the recipe as my base and have made several diffenent flavors by omitting the cocoa powder and mixing Silk coffee creamer with my soy milk for a creamier texture. You can use the plain or french vanilla depending on what flavor you are making. The last try was using raspberry flavoring with the plain creamer in 1 cup and plain soy milk as a half cup. I also reduced the cornstarch to 2 1/2 T. Then, if you want to make it sugar free... use 1/4 tsp. of liquid stevia in place of the sugar. It makes a great dish for diabetics or anyone cutting calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
When I first did this I too had trouble with the chocolate clumping; but I found a solution; use Chocolate Silk Soy instead of chocolate powder; it cuts down on the sugar; for extra flavoring I use half the amount of chocolate; it is my favorite pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kungaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this for my 3 1/2 year old that's allergic to milk. I didn't have cocoa powder, so I used Hershey's chocolate syrup instead. I also used vanilla soymilk instead of regular. Otherwise, I just followed the directions and it came out great. It was VERY sweet, but did have a slight soy taste. My son's never had regular milk or pudding, so he certainly didn't care. There are very few chocolate products he can have and it's nice to have a few as a treat. It was so quick and easy, I can make it for a nice snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I found that instead of mixing the water and the cornstarch, you should mix the sugar, cornstarch and cocoa powder together, then whisk that into the milk and water, and you will not get lumps. Also, you should put plastic wrap touching the top of the pudding to prevent that gluey mess on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was great, firmed up nicely and everything. Th taste was odd though, not because of the soy milk though. I would recommend using high quality cocoa powder or another form of chocolate to give it the right flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
delicious, simple to make, and made with ingredients most people already have at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My daughter is very restricted with how much dairy she can have. This recipe works very well for her. I have found that while I can use rice, almond, or soy milk, soy milk makes it set up the best, although vanilla almond milk makes it TASTE the best. Also, I just use an ounce of melted unsweetened chocolate instead of cocoa, it gives a richer flavor. Also, I increased the sugar to 1/3 of a cup. Both of these adjustments made a very good recipe excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States