Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
If you follow everyone's directions and mix the cornstarch with water until completely smooth before adding it to the chocolate soy milk mixture, I promise you there will be no lumps. Texture-wise the pudding was great, and it does thicken a great deal when it's cooling. I used 1/3 cup of raw sugar - if you're making vegan pudding, be aware that white sugar can be bleached with bone char. Unlike other reviewers I found 1/3 cup to be a tad too sweet, and I think the 1/4 cup in the recipe would have been enough, but I've lost my sweet tooth so if you're making this for little kids 1/3 would be a good idea. I didn't think it tasted like regular dairy pudding at all, but I really didn't expect it to, especially since I use pure soy milk and not those blended "beverages". Considering this is nothing more than soy milk, cornstarch, and cocoa, I'd say this makes a pretty decent pudding to satisfy a chocolate craving. Some other recipes recommend adding soy creamer, so I'm going to give those a try, but this basic recipe is so easy, so simple, and tasty enough that there's no point in complaining about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I used ALMOND MILK - not soy milk - despite all the marketing claiming how much "healthier" soy is, actually it's harder on our digestive systems, plus almond milk TASTES BETTER than any alternative (unless you're allergic of course). it was awesome, my kids ate this all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used fat-free vanilla almond milk instead of soy milk....delicious!!! Love that it makes two servings!!! My non-vegan husband asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I made a double batch, but used 1/4 cup sugar & it was still great. Tip: Heat water in the microwave before adding to cornstarch, use a whisk and mixing is so easy. This is so simple & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love this recipe. my one year old can't have dairy so we have tried various types of lactose free drinks until we found one he liked, it took almost a month of buying one carton of each brand.(vanilla rice milk). it is soo easy to make and now both my boys can have pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy and rewarding recipe! So many comments that say otherwise - I don't understand! mix cornstarch & water first in the saucepan, then add other ingredients. The cocoa powder is clumpy at first, but continuous stirring resolves that. I usually add chocolate chips or m&ms before refrigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a vegan friend of my wife's it turned out pretty good. after cooking it was a little to rich and thick so while still a little warm i added more soy milk put it in blender and i was much smoother and more pudding like. probably added almost 1/4 cup of soy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Like others I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and I followed the microwave directions someone else had discovered of 1 min stir another min stir, another min stir, 20 sec, 20 sec (at that time it didn't change any so I called it done) and stuck it in the freezer to quick chill. Taste was there...but unlike store bought puddin cups it had kinda a rubbery texture...but the flavor was there...IDK if reducing the amount of corn starch would fix the rubber problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classicmustangchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'm not sure what to rate this because the idea is there and it definitely tasted good while it was cooking but after cooling it was not sweet enough. I used almond milk instead of soy and it was smooth and looked great. I'll try this again and double the sugar and repost a review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We thought this was delicious! I did modify it a bit (used ground choc. chips instead of cocoa pwdr, scraped a vanilla bean into the mixture before cooking, and added a pinch of salt), and also doubled it, but it was rich and creamy and the children, husband, and guests never guessed it was dairy-free! THanks Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States