Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Added 6 packets of sweet and low instead of sugar and used low sugar soy milk. Next time used Almond milk, 1/2 cup Splenda and 2 oz melted unsweetened choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
One night I was craving some good comfort food - chocolate pudding! I've never made it from scratch, but I hoped I could find a recipe with ingredients I had on hand. This recipe is so easy and I was thoroughly impressed with how it turned out! Most cooks know to stir corn starch in cold water first, so as long as you stick to that rule it will turn out smooth and creamy. I'm already thinking of ways to add to it - peanut butter, white choco chips, it's endless... This will become a favorite of mine fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I didn't care for this. I didn't have any trouble with clumping, but it came out quite thick. Not a pudding consistency at all. The flavor was also lacking. Not chocolaty or sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a fantastic alternative. I'm not vegan or lactose intolerant, I just like eating healthy. I wanted to make homemade pudding, but when I looked recipes up it called for eggs and such. I just wanted to keep it simple and healthy. This recipes provides just that. Its great tasting and can easily be changed around a little bit to make it more interesting. The first night I made it, I pretty much stuck to the recipe but I used dark chocolate almond milk instead of soy...it was simple and delicious. However, the second time, my boyfriend added a little peanut butter and a handfull of chocolate chips...that too was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great alternative pudding! My 3 year old is allergic to dairy and soy, this recipe worked with oat milk. I watered down the oat milk a little to and cut some of the sugar. To avoid lumping, in a separate bowl I whisked the cornstarch with cool water first. Then in another bowl I whisked the cocoa powder and then combined the cornstarch mixture before putting into the pot. Added the sugar when I was ready to start cooking. Whisked constantly over heat until it started thickening. Will use this base for fudgesicle this summer. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Loved the recipe! We used Rice dream instead of soy. I was very excited when it started getting thick and actually looking like real chocolate pudding. I had to add a little more sugar though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made this for my 8 yr old daughter who is allergic to milk (and many other things). She loved it so much that she asked me to write to you and tell you thank you! I am enjoying it too. I will never pay $5.00 for 4 little cartons of soy pudding again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very delicious considering I used Rice beverage instead of milk, like in traditional pudding. Had no problems whats so ever with the cornstarch or cocoa clumping like others had posted. Perfect for my son who has so many food allergies, this was a excellent find! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe! My kiddos are lactose intolerant and making this with almond milk was a quick easy dessert for them. I also used 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/3 cup of sugar. Make sure and dissolve the cornstarch completely in the cold water, then whisk into the chocolate mixture slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
You need to mix all ingrediants in the pan before you start heating it to prevent lumps. This goes with all cornstarch pudding. No need to mix cornstarch with water first- I didn't even add the water, just wisk everything with the cold soymilk. I used chocolate soymilk, and 2T. cocoa, and agave nectar instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States