Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very light, despite it'sleep chocolate color. I doubled the recipe for a party and it got rave reviews. Like people recommended, I changed the sugar to 1/3 cup (2/3 to double the recipe) and I used rice milk. At first it was frustrating because it didn't seem like the cocoa was going to mix, it just floated on top for forever. But eventually it incorporated and I cooked it until it seemed thick enough, cooled it the pan for bit and then finally transferred to a glass bowl to refrigerate. Everyone liked it! Light texture and great aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious! Be sure to read other reviews and do the cornstarch right. I doubled the sugar and used Splenda instead, because I like stuff extra sweet. Thickened up perfectly! Also used plain light soy milk. I'm anxious to try the with other "milk" varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepicklechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
this is cocoa jelly not cocoa pudding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Very good...the best non-dairy pudding I've tasted! We used coconut milk, and the amount of 'milk' the recipe called for was exactly the same amount that was in the can, so it was super easy! I did up the vanilla a bit, since we like vanilla here. I used a full teaspoon. Seriously yummy. The trick to making it not clump is 1) whisk it like crazy when you add the cocoa powder, before adding the cornstarch mixture, and 2) add the cornstarch mixture slowly while whisking, and don't stop whisking after you add it. It will thicken up very quickly. Don't heat it for too long after you add the cornstarch, just long enough to thicken a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I use Truvia instead of sugar and an almond milk that is only 45 calories/cup - it's a real treat when you want a low calorie dessert. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this pudding tonight for my son who can't have dairy or gluten. I 4 times it and hoped I wasn't making a big mistake. Absolutely not! It was amazing! My two sons, my husband, my daughter and four of my grandchildren who were visiting inhaled it while it was still warm! The only thing I did different was to mix the sugar and cocoa together to break up the lumps in the cocoa. I've already promised my grandkids I would make more for this weekend if this batch is gone when they come out. Thank you so much, Kathleen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I love chocolate pudding, but am unfortunately lactose intolerant. I am so glad I found this recipe! It's really good. I made a couple of changes. I'm not a fan of soy milk, so I used coconut milk instead and it worked really well. I also added a pinch (maybe 1/8 of a tsp.) of salt. Next time I think I'll try using mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This vegan recipe tastes just like dairy-pudding. It is creamy and chocolate-y. I did not alter anything. Serves about 4 if you imagine a serving being like the pudding cups at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Amazing! I like to add some sea salt though, it intensifies the chocolate flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I really like this recipe and it's so easy to make and then so delicious. The flavor reminds me of some chocolate popsicles but in the best of ways. I ended up using almond milk for my second run but that tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States