Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Juicy, tender, and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smigs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This recipe was amazing! The combination of sweet & spicy was just right for the pallette. I used italian seasoning instead of allspice, but the taste was still great. I will probably cut back on the pepper next time, because it was a bit too spicy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Nice, Very NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Excellent rub! No one could guess the secret ingredient was maple syrup! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We really enjoyed this. We have put it on sirloin, round steak, and chicken. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiKatherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Hi.. Thanks for a great simple recipe... just a few ingredients and a nice taste... I used some pure maple I had from my pre-low carb days... fresh garlic, some fresh ground multi-variety (green, red, black) pepper I use on eggs and a good quality season salt I get in Milwaukee... the only change I made was to use the season salt on the meat, not in the sauce... I was also afraid of caramelizing, so I grilled the meat 5 minutes a side before adding the sauce, then finished another 5 on a side... but because of the pure maple nothing turned black... nobody guessed the "secret" ingredient (the maple syrup) and everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I posted this recipe last year and just realized I wasn't specific enough that you must use REAL maple syrup. Don't try and make this with Mrs. Butterworth's - that's a disaster waiting to happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERINEFLORENCE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe. I used it on pork chops instead of steaks. I normally do not enjoy reheated pork chops but with this rub the flavor was still great. Fresh, ground pepper really added a lot of flavor. The recipe was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I made this recipe one night when I was making steak and happened to have the ingredients on hand. I wasn't sure about maple syrup with steak but it makes an unbelievably great steak! I have made this recipe numerous times now and would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Made this last night and it was REALLY good. We used 100% maple syrup and garlic powder (1/2 Tbls.) since I didn't have fresh. Next time I'll cut back a little on the pepper- it was a bit too much for my little ones- and we'll use more syrup cause we LOVED the flavor. It was great to find a recipe to liven up our steaks without marinating. We'll definanetly (sp?) make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States