Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I posted this recipe last year and just realized I wasn't specific enough that you must use REAL maple syrup. Don't try and make this with Mrs. Butterworth's - that's a disaster waiting to happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERINEFLORENCE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Hi.. Thanks for a great simple recipe... just a few ingredients and a nice taste... I used some pure maple I had from my pre-low carb days... fresh garlic, some fresh ground multi-variety (green, red, black) pepper I use on eggs and a good quality season salt I get in Milwaukee... the only change I made was to use the season salt on the meat, not in the sauce... I was also afraid of caramelizing, so I grilled the meat 5 minutes a side before adding the sauce, then finished another 5 on a side... but because of the pure maple nothing turned black... nobody guessed the "secret" ingredient (the maple syrup) and everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
There's lots of great ways to prepare a steak. However, this is one recipe where you can decide last minute that you feel like a steak tonight without being concerned that you haven't had it in the fridge in your favorite marinade for most of the day. The ingredients are common enough that you're bound to always have them on hand. The maple syrup and the simple spices blend nicely for a steak that has more than just that pure beef flavour. So next time you're looking for a quick way to prepare a slab of juicy beef, try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I made this recipe one night when I was making steak and happened to have the ingredients on hand. I wasn't sure about maple syrup with steak but it makes an unbelievably great steak! I have made this recipe numerous times now and would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Fantastic! Loved this recipe! The flavor was great: sweet and smokey. My only change, I doubled the garlic (Oh, how I adore Garlic!). However, please realize that if you use this moist rub immediately after placing the steak on the grill, you cannot cook the steak past medium rare -- or medium, but that is pushing it. Remember, sugar burns easily. If you like a well done steak, DO NOT brush this on the steak until it is medium/medium well. Your results will be superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The maple syrup is a bit of a twist on the ol' beeferoo. It crystalized and added a sweet-but-not-too-sweet taste to the meat. I added rosemary to the rub for taste, and its flavor and aroma added that little extra that the dish needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
OMG this was so easy and everyone loved it. It is the norm for our summer grilling now. Works on everything! Beef, Chicken, Pork, Salmon... It all tastes great! Add Mongolian Fire Oil to give some heat if you like it hot. Steller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used this for a fathers day cookout (how fitting). I got great results from it. I applied it before grilling and liberally while cooking and the taste was fantastic. The sugars in the syrup made a great crust on the outside and the added flavors really enhanced the flavor of the sirloin steaks that I made. A few notes: Fresh ground black pepper is so accessible nowadays, and it really does make a difference in recipes like this, so do your self a favor and use it here. BUT, I have great faith in dried herbs and spices, if utilized properly. So I replaced fresh garlic cloves with garlic powder. I find that crushed or minced garlic cloves rarely add enough flavor to make any difference in grilling, and are just a hassle to apply effectively in recipes like this. Garlic powder integrates flavor into the sauce very easily, and there's no problems with evenness or application. Sure the flavor isn't of "Fresh" garlic, but the most important flavor is the steak anyway. (Garlic salt works well too, just be sure to omit some of the "seasoned salt" as well) Also, with this sauce, there's no such thing as too much. Only so much sauce is going stay on the meat as it is, and while it's cooking the sauce tends to roll off the meat anyway, so keep the steak well coated. I promise you that it's hard to over-do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banryu95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Wonderful! I couldn't detect much sweetness (I used real maple syrup) & the flavor was great. The rub adhered very well & the outside of the steak caramelized slightly...we got some great grill marks. I didn't measure anything but teh syrup & I topped each staek w/ a pat of butter after removing it from the grill. My grandson "yummed" all the way through dinner...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This recipe was amazing! The combination of sweet & spicy was just right for the pallette. I used italian seasoning instead of allspice, but the taste was still great. I will probably cut back on the pepper next time, because it was a bit too spicy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States