Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Hi.. Thanks for a great simple recipe... just a few ingredients and a nice taste... I used some pure maple I had from my pre-low carb days... fresh garlic, some fresh ground multi-variety (green, red, black) pepper I use on eggs and a good quality season salt I get in Milwaukee... the only change I made was to use the season salt on the meat, not in the sauce... I was also afraid of caramelizing, so I grilled the meat 5 minutes a side before adding the sauce, then finished another 5 on a side... but because of the pure maple nothing turned black... nobody guessed the "secret" ingredient (the maple syrup) and everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I thought this looked intriguing, so I tried it. I felt it called for way too much pepper, though, so I halved it. (I'm not a pepper person) It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBMALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I posted this recipe last year and just realized I wasn't specific enough that you must use REAL maple syrup. Don't try and make this with Mrs. Butterworth's - that's a disaster waiting to happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERINEFLORENCE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This was good and different, but we prefer other recipes to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was fine, but nothing out of the box. There wasn't a huge amount of flavour from the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe. I used it on pork chops instead of steaks. I normally do not enjoy reheated pork chops but with this rub the flavor was still great. Fresh, ground pepper really added a lot of flavor. The recipe was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I made this recipe one night when I was making steak and happened to have the ingredients on hand. I wasn't sure about maple syrup with steak but it makes an unbelievably great steak! I have made this recipe numerous times now and would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Simple and tasty. Used this on fillets and it was great. Not too much flavor, but just enough. We'll do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
A yummy, different flavour! We had to add some extras to this to make it a bit more flavourful, but it was a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Nice, Very NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States