Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was pretty good, but not to die for.. I was worried that the maple syrup would make it too sweet, but it didn't. The flavors complimented themselves. It's just not that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was a quick and easy rub! Very tasty! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice rub...No change made to recipe. Only thing, I didn't have access to a BBQ (-15C), so I used the oven. Came out perfectly - tender, med-rare. Heat oven to 350F. On stove, a cast iron frying pan heated on high. Steaks seared both sides for 1.5-2 min, (each side). Then pan and all into the oven for aprox 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is very good - I love all of the black pepper in it. I used the marinade on flat iron steak and cooked them on the Foreman grill. The syrup gets a little burny on the grill, so beware if you aren't using nonstick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Pretty darn good! I don't think I will purchase a rub again when this can be whipped up so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My hubby loved this steak (my young kids said it was "spicy"). I didn't have real maple syrup so I did use the 'fake' kind with a little added honey and cooked it on a grill pan. It came out delicious. My hubby said it was the best steak I've cooked! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My kids really loved this. It is simple and the flavors are subtle, but it brought out the flavors of the meat exactly the way they wanted. They have already announced they want steak cooked this way again, which is pretty unusual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe. My family asked me to make it again tonight. No one guessed that it had maple syrup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Simple...Simple...Simple. It was a hit at the grill! I was surprised at how tasty the steak was. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Loved this rub. We used it on a large sirloin steak and it was wonderful. The only substitution I used was Cajun French Fry Seasoning Salt for the seasoned salt. It punched up the heat a notch. Let the rub sit on the steak for about an hour and then drizzled the maple syrup on right before putting the steak on the grill. Couldn't detect very much of the maple but it did have a sweeter taste to it. Next time, we'll drizzle the syrup before adding the rub and then letting it sit. Either way this one is going in as a keeper. Thanks Catherine and Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada Flintridge, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States