Dad's Spaghetti Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
My husband and I enjoyed this soup. The taste is similar to the goulash I make occasionally. I added salt to the recipe to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made this recipe when I was in a hurry to fix dinner. My children really enjoyed it. It was tasty, however, it really needs salt and pepper. Without them, I thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
This recipe, as written, was a good bae recipe, but very bland. I added 1/2 tsp each of thyme, tarragon, oregano, salt and pepper and it made it into a wonderful soup. My wife and daughter say that the spaghetti should be broken intoi 1" or 2" pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I tried this recipe but the pot we have would not hold all eight cups of water and the rest of the ingredients. As I followed the instructions in the recipe and I got to the part where one adds the water, I realized I would only get about four cups of water into the pot. (I also added a half teaspoon of Basil, Marjoram, Pepper, Oregano and Salt. It seemed way too bland otherwise.) As my wife and sat down to eat, she commented that if I had managed to add all eight cups of water, it would have tasted as if the water had a very brief passing encounter with a tomato. A few nights later, I warmed up the leftovers. Most of the water that had been in the bowl must have been absorbed by the spaghetti so I added an eight ounce can of tomato sauce. I filled the can with water and added that. Then I added about a tablespoon of Basil, Marjoram, Oregano and Thyme. When I served it up this time, my wife said, "now this tastes like something!" I'm going to assume that the eight cups mentioned in the original recipe was a typo. Some of the ingredients must have been missing. If the recipe was made as stated, it would have been more than bland. In fact, I think maybe only three cups of water would be sufficient in the original version. I guess with all of these alterations I can name the resulting recipe after myself and call it B.J.'s spaghetti soup, but I've got a few more alterations in mind to make it better. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
definetly SEASON! I put some garlic powder and italian seasoning when browning the meat. I added 3 "Cans" of water, and cooked rice instead of pasta (what was on hand). I added about a TBL. of fresh herbs at the end, and this really tasted wonderful. I added shredded moz. cheese, but it just got stringing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EADAMIEC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Try using chicken broth in place of at LEAST half of the water. I think he probably adds chicken cubes and they were somehow left out of the original recipe. Just be careful then about adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Instead of corn, used mixed vegetable and 1 lb of Angel Hair Pasta broken in 1/3rds. Doubled other ingredients. Was a bit bland on first taste, but added seasonings to spice it up. My son loves any kind of pasta EXCEPT spaghetti, the angel hair was a big hit with him. Fast, easy and I thought a 'fun' recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is very close to our old standby "Quick Hamburger Soup" recipe. I increase the meat to 1 1/2 pounds, decrease the water to 6 cups, use a 28 ounce can of organic crushed tomatoes, and add 2 T beef base and 1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper. Instead of the spaghetti we use half a cup of acini di pepe which I stir in after the soup has simmered 25 minutes. Add some crusty bread and a salad and you have a hearty warming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent Excellent Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moscow Mills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I was able to save it after A LOT of tweaking but that really wasn't fun for me. Nice idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States