Dad's Spaghetti Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Try using chicken broth in place of at LEAST half of the water. I think he probably adds chicken cubes and they were somehow left out of the original recipe. Just be careful then about adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
This recipe, as written, was a good bae recipe, but very bland. I added 1/2 tsp each of thyme, tarragon, oregano, salt and pepper and it made it into a wonderful soup. My wife and daughter say that the spaghetti should be broken intoi 1" or 2" pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is very close to our old standby "Quick Hamburger Soup" recipe. I increase the meat to 1 1/2 pounds, decrease the water to 6 cups, use a 28 ounce can of organic crushed tomatoes, and add 2 T beef base and 1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper. Instead of the spaghetti we use half a cup of acini di pepe which I stir in after the soup has simmered 25 minutes. Add some crusty bread and a salad and you have a hearty warming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent Excellent Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fall Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
My husband and I enjoyed this soup. The taste is similar to the goulash I make occasionally. I added salt to the recipe to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made this recipe when I was in a hurry to fix dinner. My children really enjoyed it. It was tasty, however, it really needs salt and pepper. Without them, I thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Instead of corn, used mixed vegetable and 1 lb of Angel Hair Pasta broken in 1/3rds. Doubled other ingredients. Was a bit bland on first taste, but added seasonings to spice it up. My son loves any kind of pasta EXCEPT spaghetti, the angel hair was a big hit with him. Fast, easy and I thought a 'fun' recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
As written, this would have been very bland. I added herbs as some other reviews suggested and a TON of salt. I'll make it again, but next time I'll use broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
definetly SEASON! I put some garlic powder and italian seasoning when browning the meat. I added 3 "Cans" of water, and cooked rice instead of pasta (what was on hand). I added about a TBL. of fresh herbs at the end, and this really tasted wonderful. I added shredded moz. cheese, but it just got stringing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EADAMIEC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I tried this recipe but the pot we have would not hold all eight cups of water and the rest of the ingredients. As I followed the instructions in the recipe and I got to the part where one adds the water, I realized I would only get about four cups of water into the pot. (I also added a half teaspoon of Basil, Marjoram, Pepper, Oregano and Salt. It seemed way too bland otherwise.) As my wife and sat down to eat, she commented that if I had managed to add all eight cups of water, it would have tasted as if the water had a very brief passing encounter with a tomato. A few nights later, I warmed up the leftovers. Most of the water that had been in the bowl must have been absorbed by the spaghetti so I added an eight ounce can of tomato sauce. I filled the can with water and added that. Then I added about a tablespoon of Basil, Marjoram, Oregano and Thyme. When I served it up this time, my wife said, "now this tastes like something!" I'm going to assume that the eight cups mentioned in the original recipe was a typo. Some of the ingredients must have been missing. If the recipe was made as stated, it would have been more than bland. In fact, I think maybe only three cups of water would be sufficient in the original version. I guess with all of these alterations I can name the resulting recipe after myself and call it B.J.'s spaghetti soup, but I've got a few more alterations in mind to make it better. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States