Dad's Pumpkin Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was a huge hit for my traditionalist family. I added a little melted butter to the crushed ginger snaps and pressed them into a spring form pan to make this light and fluffy version of pumpkin pie. It's a little more trouble than the typical pumpkin pie but well worth it! Everyone loved it and I'll make it every Thanksgiving from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My twelve year old and I made this pie for Thanksgiving. I was wonderful! We did however have a problem getting our egg whites right, but we were persistant and this pie came out amazing. I did double the recipe and made homemade whipped cream to top it off. This pie is our new Thanksgiving tradition. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I did this as an experiment in making a pumpkin chiffon pie, and it was pretty tasty: much lighter and creamier than a traditional pumpkin pie. I followed the recipe exactly. I had never made chiffon before, but I didn't have much difficulty with that part of this. The next time that I make this, I will probably do a more traditional crust: either a traditional pie crust or a gingersnap crumb crust. But even as is, this was a pretty good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Didn't make the actual pie. Use the pumpkin chiffon mixture as a filling to make cream puffs. The filling was light and had a nice pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have to say that this was NOT a success for me. From the numerous good reviews, I think it was my fault... the egg whites would not stiffen, and for someone with less chiffon experience, it would have helped to know that you have to whip the whites in a metal bowl and allow them to come to room temperature before they will firm up. Also, I did what one reviewer suggested and made a gingersnap crumb crust rather than just using whole cookies. It was very tasty, but turned to mush when I added the filling. Overall, good ideas - but a disappointing result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a great pie. I made the crust with ground gingersnaps and butter, but other than that I followed the recipe. Light and fluffy with a nice spicy pumpkin taste. I think I like this better than tradiional pumpkin pie! Seems to me that it tastes better a day or two out as well, as the flavors have melded together. Only thing is the crust did get soggy after a couple days. This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This pie is fabulous! the only thing I will do differently next time is to make it the day I intend to eat it because my (Mi-Del) gingersnaps went a bit soggy. It was still a huge hit at Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Everyone loved this light and tasty dessert. Made the crust with gingersnap crumbs and butter. Place it in springform pan, then topped with whipped cream and fresh ground nutmeg. A real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
VERY GOOD but VERY hard to make for someone who does not do a lot of cooking. I do not suggest this recipe for novice cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Very, very good. I love pumpkin and I really like how light and refreshing this dessert is. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States