Dad's Pumpkin Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I can't stand pumpkin pie. Ok, with this pie, I was sneaking back to the fridge for more. I used a baked pie shell, rather than the cookie crust called for. The pie is wonderfully light and fluffy. Makes other pumpkin pies truly taste like... someone said mud
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is very close to my Mom's recipe, except she: 1. did a graham cracker crust 2. used 2 1/2 cups Pumpkin 3. used 1/2 cup light brown sugar - 1 cup white sugar 4. 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg 5. 3/4 cup evaporated milk 6. no butter- it's in the graham cracker crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This is a very different but delicious pumpkin pie. Since I tend to like my pies lighter, I thought it was very good. The ginersnaps really added flavor. The way the pumpkin mixture oozes into the ginger snaps, it reminds me of a very fluffy banana pudding, except that it tastes like pumpkin pie instead of banana. This recipe seems to be especially popular with children. I wound up having to use 2 pie pans for it though. It makes 2 pies or 1 very deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was SO yummy. My family loved it. It makes ordinary pumpkin pie look like mud. The gingersnap crust adds such a great flavor. THANKS! Will prepare this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This one's a keeper! This recipe does wonders to thick, heavy pumpkin. I made it for a family dinner and coaxed everyone to try it - even the "non-pumpkin-pie-eaters" loved it! The filling fluffs up almost like mousse but is more substantial, and has a marvelous lightly spiced pumpkiny taste. I would say the gingersnap crust MUST be used - for me, it made the pie. I suggest buying quality cookies, with lots of ginger (I used brand-name Mr. Christie Midget Snaps, thin wafers) And next time I think I will even layer them a bit more to make a thicker crust. HOWEVER, I am now signed up to make the pumpkin pie for my family dinners for the next 25 years...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I think a little more spice would be nice, but maybe thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Gingersnap cookies did not soften as I would have liked them to. Too hard to cut. When they say the first piece is the hardest to come out, they should have said all pieces are hard to come out with this pie. PLEASE NOTE: Flavor and texture were WONDERFUL, that's why 4 stars- I will just be a little more creative with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasha_n_kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
the texture was nice but not enough flavor for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
I really did not care for this pie; pumpkin pie is my favorite and I was excited to try this new twist, but I was disapointed. It is ok if it is all eaten right away, but after a few hours the cookies get soggy and makes the pie taste nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States