Dad's Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crystal Younger
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It was very good. I added the cheese and bacon and we ate it as a meal. Even my teenager liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Younger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this potato soup and is perfect for a beginner on a pressure cooker! Be sure to have bacon (I used real bacon bits) and cheese. My husband loved it as we'll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Warm and Hearty. Reserved 2 cups of cooked veggies before using the emulsion blender. After creamy return chunks. Sprinkle with the fairy dust of food (bacon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I made this and it was very good. Everyone liked it. we will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Very good soup and love using my pressure cooker! Added some cheese and chopped bacon when serving. GREAT flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I tripled this recipe and made it in the crockpot only because I am terrified to use my husband's pressure cooker. Instead of water, I used chicken broth. I did add a few more spices (onion powder, garlic powder, dill weed, chives, red pepper flake, celery salt) but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I did not need the additional mashed potato flakes, my soup was the perfect consistancy. Right before serving, I sprinkled each serving with a little shredded sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon. Thumbs up from the whole family. VERY cheap meal idea for a mom on a budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is exactly the recipe my dad used to make on cold grey days! My daughter and I have enriched the taste by adding 2-4 chicken bouillion cubes to the water at the beginning......The evaporated milk is the key to this recipe, please edon't substitute with regular milk or cream, it just isn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I don't have a pressure cooker, so I just cooked it all in a large saucepan. The amount of celery looked excessive to me, so I cut it to 2 stalks, very finely sliced, and it worked out very well. When it was cooked I took out a couple of cups of the soup and whizzed it in my blender (an old trick of mine), then returned it to the rest of the soup, and this thickened it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States