Dad's Peach Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I am about to make my second batch of this recipe (scaled down to 6 servings). The only downfall is having to make the base ahead and let it chill. I have impatient ice cream eaters here! This is a great ice cream and will be made repeatedly. I used 1% milk and half and half instead of the heavy cream. Thanks! Update: This recipe makes an outstanding base for any fruit ice cream. I made my second batch with some sweet cherries that needed to be used up and it is AWESOME! Even my cherry hating DD is gobbling it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My husband loves it! Maybe when we serve it, we'll top it with more chopped nectarines to bring out the light nectarine flavor (as I'm obsessed with the flavor). We'll definitely make this one again, maybe next time we'll do it with peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
A very good-textured ice cream, but the peach flavor was way too delicate -- I doubled the amount of peach puree. Just before putting the ice cream into the freezer, I stirred in some finely diced peaches, which really gave it some "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was good, custardy ice cream. The problem I had was that it was too fatty. I felt almost like I was eating flavored cream. The leftovers in the bottom of the bowl were like butter. The peach flavor was mild and the consistency was good, other than being really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This ice cream was amazing. My whole family loved it. It's incredibly creamy and so much better than store brand ice cream. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe, but it was really too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
There was no peach flavor to this ice cream. I used very ripe peaches and even added extra, but still no peach flavor. I used this recipe because I don't like pieces of frozen fruit, but this was very disappointing considering all the positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The egg flavor in this is very distinct, and I'm not a huge fan of that. If you want a peachy flavor, definitely use more peaches. We doubled the peach and it's still not very peachy. Partially to blame for that is that bf didn't puree all the peaches, but even so I was hoping for more peach flavor since we used double the amount. Not sure if we'll try this one again since there are a lot of ice cream recipes on here, but it was worth a shot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My grandma wanted peach ice cream so I made this for her on Sunday. It was excellent. She was very happy. Your peaches are going to determine how tasty this is I believe. We followed the recipe using the almond extract which I think is what really made this ice cream so good, (besides cooking a good custard.) At the end, we added small chunks of peaches at grandma's request. Some of these were a little tart. I think letting these sit in warm simple syrup while the custard cools would help to keep the chunks from being too tart if you wanted a chunk filled version. Froze really quickly which was nice too. Was a little creamy for me, but I was the only one who thought so. Might try it with a little less cream or some half and half. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I really like the ingredient ratio of this recipe. Unlike another recipe base I have that calls for 8 egg yolks.. There are 2 things I would do differently: 1) Strain the puree- I pureed fresh peaches with the skin on thinking the skin wouldn't be noticeable..... Big mistake, the tiny specs of peach skin that can be found in every single bite is just plain annoying & unappealing since some tend to stick to your teeth. 2) Like my other recipe, I would combine the eggs, sugar & salt until light/fluffy. Then temper with the warm milk & return to the stove. The egg/sugar/salt mixture blends easier with the milk. Also, if your using the ice cream attachment for the kitchen aid stand mixer - Freeze the bowl for at least 24 hrs and chill the complete ice cream mixture (egg/sugar/milk + heavy cream, etc) at least 12hrs if not more. This makes a HUGE difference in the way the ice cream churns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States