Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Love the idea of recipe although after reading reviews; I didn't pre-cook fresh (washed/trimmed) green beans either (had about 3/4 lb). I used the ingredients listed but didn't really "measure" just eye-balled them. Did NOT use 3 tblsps of sesame oil as it's very strong in flavor. 1 tblsp was plenty. I cooked in my cast iron skillet that I pre-cooked 3 diced up bacon slices in earlier. (Removed bacon to toweling and drained off grease from pan.) Added a dollop of the sesame oil & reheated skillet. In went grn beans w/remaining ingredients & simmered all for about 15 minutes (covered), stirring often. If you have young thin beans lessen cook time. *plz don't cook garlic as written, it will turn bitter. I added it 1/2 way through cooking.* Lastly: I turned up the heat long enough to lighlty crisp beans a bit. (This also helps removes excess moisture from cooking covered.) Tossed the cooked bacon bits on top b4 serving. Nice flavor and easy even with slight modifications. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
our favorite way to make green beans now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Fantastic! I didn't have low sodium soy sauce on hand, but will definitely get it for the next time. It was a bit on the salty side. Oh, and i didn't steam the green beans first, just threw them in the pan at the same time i put the garlic in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very good! I used frozen french cut green beans instead, they worked fine. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe. I cooked them up in the frying pan without boiling them and they turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I served this at a special dinner for my family and they simply raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Family loved them! Instead of balsamic vinegar, I just used red wine vinegar, since balsamic wasn't on sale! And I didn't have any sesame oil, so I just used some extra virgin olive oil instead. They were very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I loved the strong flavors of this recipe but my boyfriend thought the vinegar was too strong. Next time I'll probably cut back a little on the vinegar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were really good, easy & quick to make. I added a little less soy sauce and sprinkled some shredded parmesan on them after I removed them from the pan. Will definitely make again and look forward to trying this recipe with asparagus also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good. I have a microwave steamer so I steamed the beans while I mixed up the sauce.Two of us finished a pound of beans and I wish I had more to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States