Dad's Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was good! Out of personal preference, I omitted bean sprouts and green onions. Used only 1/2 tsp of red pepper powder, I didn't want to overkill the spiciness, although I couldn't taste the pepper at all, so maybe more is ok! I used 2 tbsp of fish sauce and 2 tbsp of soy sauce, and that worked better for me in terms of flavor. Next time I'll try adding some peanut butter too. I also added some cubed tofu, fish cake cut into strips, and used 2 eggs. The whole recipe took me about 45mins to make! I went from not very hungry to very hungry while making it. I also think that the serving size is a bit off... I had to use 8oz of noodles to feed four people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was great, I made a few adjustments to the cooking method but the flavors were good. I added shredded chicken but will try shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Nice recipe. Traditional pad thai is made with several hard to find ingredients, and I never thought ketchup would be a suitable substitute for some of these. Turns out it's a great sub. My tip: skip the boiling water for the noodles. Just put them in a bowl of very hot tap water while you prep the rest of the dish. They'll be perfectly al dente when you are ready to cook them. Boiling risks over-cooking the noodles which makes for a gummy mess of a dish. Also, fish sauce is crucial IMO. It may stink, but it adds a depth of flavor to the overall dish that you can't get with soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was SO good! I'm not sure why some people didn't like it. It really is restaurant-quality pad thai. Per other reviews, I substituted the fish sauce for soy sauce, added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, and doubled the sauce. You MUST double the sauce. The only criticism I have is that I was SLIGHTLY tangier than I thought it would be, so I think next time I'll just put less lime juice. I added chicken, just as a personal preference. This was super easy to make and my entire family loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
very good BUT needs some of those changes others suggested. It was too sour so I added more sweetener, almond butter (peanut allergies in my home) and some sesame oil too. Next time, I'll lessen the sour ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used this recipe for my first time making pad thai and it couldn't have went better! Easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
In my attempt to copy the best take-out pad thai ever, I made this recipe. The only major substitution I made was soy for the fish sauce, plus I added some peanut butter to the sauce. It turned out WAY BETTER than the take-out pad thai. NO MORE TAKE OUT FOR US!!!!! My kids even loved it, but I will back off the red pepper next time (family preference). I loved the spice, but it was a bit much for them. THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Pen
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's my favorite Pad Thai recipe! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very yummy dish made with many of the other reviewer's suggestions including adding chicken. Also added 1 T peanut butter to the sauce, a pinch extra sugar and cut the fish sauce with soy sauce (i used 1:1 soy sauce and fish sauce instead of 1 full 1/4 C fish sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Whew! I just made this and my lips are on fire. The amount of red pepper flakes sure does the job. I'm not sure how much I liked the whole brownsugar, lime and ketsup mixture, It was a little too much like BBQ (I didn't add fish sauce, I used gluten free soy instead) I think in the future I'll be looking for another recipe to use. Overall it tastes nothing like Pad Thai I've had at Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States