Dad's Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Too much fish sauce, recipe did not yield enough sauce for us, and I felt the instructions should have been broken into more steps. My bf loved it, it was just ok for me and the fish sauce made my house super stinky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
really good, but I did make some modifications. did 1/2 fish sauce & 1/2 soy sauce (as FS can be strong!). sauce wasn't too sour, but I did use heaping tablespoon. added some cut celery for crunch. I beat the eggs and cooked in the microwave before adding to noodles. doubled the sauce and chopped parsley for finishing touch at end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was really good, but it didn't taste exactly like the pad thai at my fabulous local thai restaurant. I think I need to use something different besides fish sauce. I wonder what oyster sauce would do. Also, I wish they would say what brand and the exact name of the noodles to use. That is always so confusing when I go to the store to buy "pad thai noodles"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I'm so glad I tried this, much easier to control the heat level than at a restaurant. It turned out better than expected. The only change I made was to add thinly sliced chicken to make it a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was good! Out of personal preference, I omitted bean sprouts and green onions. Used only 1/2 tsp of red pepper powder, I didn't want to overkill the spiciness, although I couldn't taste the pepper at all, so maybe more is ok! I used 2 tbsp of fish sauce and 2 tbsp of soy sauce, and that worked better for me in terms of flavor. Next time I'll try adding some peanut butter too. I also added some cubed tofu, fish cake cut into strips, and used 2 eggs. The whole recipe took me about 45mins to make! I went from not very hungry to very hungry while making it. I also think that the serving size is a bit off... I had to use 8oz of noodles to feed four people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was great, I made a few adjustments to the cooking method but the flavors were good. I added shredded chicken but will try shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Nice recipe. Traditional pad thai is made with several hard to find ingredients, and I never thought ketchup would be a suitable substitute for some of these. Turns out it's a great sub. My tip: skip the boiling water for the noodles. Just put them in a bowl of very hot tap water while you prep the rest of the dish. They'll be perfectly al dente when you are ready to cook them. Boiling risks over-cooking the noodles which makes for a gummy mess of a dish. Also, fish sauce is crucial IMO. It may stink, but it adds a depth of flavor to the overall dish that you can't get with soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was SO good! I'm not sure why some people didn't like it. It really is restaurant-quality pad thai. Per other reviews, I substituted the fish sauce for soy sauce, added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, and doubled the sauce. You MUST double the sauce. The only criticism I have is that I was SLIGHTLY tangier than I thought it would be, so I think next time I'll just put less lime juice. I added chicken, just as a personal preference. This was super easy to make and my entire family loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
very good BUT needs some of those changes others suggested. It was too sour so I added more sweetener, almond butter (peanut allergies in my home) and some sesame oil too. Next time, I'll lessen the sour ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used this recipe for my first time making pad thai and it couldn't have went better! Easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States