Dad's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
MMMMmmm ive been looking for a recipe like this. Although I did change it a bit when I made it. I made half the recipe (otherwise we would eat them all) and still got many cookies. I used rolled oats instead of quick cooking oats. Instead of adding each individual spice I added 3 tsp (6 in a full recipe) of pumpkin pie spice which comtains; cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I also added about a cup of raisins. These cookies were gone in a matter of hours. YUM oh and as others said....8 minutes did it for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I found this recipe about 6 years ago on this site and it has become one of our absolute family favorites ever since -- I love spices and these are ohh sooo good!!! perfect taste, chewy on the inside and with a slight crunch on the outside. I usually prepare the batter and freeze it up in little balls -- just pop them in the oven for a quick treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
I cut down on the baking time so that they weren't so crispy. The best part is that they stay moist for days if stored with a slice of bread. Overall these were a hit. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These are absolutely fantastic! I can't keep the cookie jar full, they're eaten before I have a chance to wash the cookie sheet. I thought at first that there might be too much spice but I made them as the recipe said and we just love them. Don't change a thing. Thanks kedend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
These were good the first day, but not as good as the quaker oats recipe. By the third day, they were dry and hard. Kind of a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Although these cookies were okay, they were not Dad's Oatmeal Cookies from Baltimore. I grew up on Dad's Oatmeal Cookies and was heartbroken when they left from off of Pratt Street They weren't this spicy. Some of the spices need to be eliminated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a wonderful Recipe. I also found that they Cookie got hard after a day or two . I simply slightly under cook mine and find they stay soft longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe I have ever made. I cut the amount of cloves in half because I thought it might be a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My boyfriend made these last night and they were soo good! He made a half batch due to a shortage on butter and thanks whoever mentioned the pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moserj2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Perfection! Thank you, kedend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanelli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States