Dad's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
These were delicious and the spices were just perfect! Wouldn't chang anything! I did use unsalted butter, and was very vigilant by the oven. GREAT COOKIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! Since I didn't make the receipe exactly, I feel I can't give it all 5 stars, but I would like to! I didn't have Allspice, and even though I LOVE the taste of spices, I wasn't sure my coworkers would as much. So I adjusted the spices a bit: I left the Cinnamon at 2 tsp, I put in 1.5 tsp of Nutmeg and 1.25 tsp of Cloves. These came out chewy with just a hint of crunch, perfect, just how I like them! Everyone's loved them at work so far as well! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Our family didn't care for these cookies at all. There was way too much allspice and cloves. I had a bad after taste for hours. The allspice and cloves should be cut to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
These were so good. I did overbake them, although it says to watch it. I have an 11 month old baby to watch and I got distracted. But, even with the slightly burnt taste, they were good. I will make these again, when someone else is home to watch my baby! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Not quite what I was expecting, but these were still tasty, and really easy to make. A nice, "Oatmeal-spice" type cookie I guess. I might put raisins in them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
These cookies were good, but not what I was looking for. I think they should change the name to Oatmeal Spice cookies. Certainly not the traditional oatmeal cookie. Easy to make, but be sure to note in the instructions where you have to wait two hours after you have prepared the dough to actually bake.....can be a big inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
These are without a doubt the best I have ever made. The spices really add to the recipe but based on one's taste. We like ours with raisins and chopped walnuts so I only add approx 2 cups of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I made Dad's Oatmeal Cookies for Cristmas and my family and friends eat them in one day, and they wont let me put anything{Raisen's or cho. chips} in them. thank you for the reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This recipe turned out so good! We added Chocolate Chips to our batch and my husband and I just loved them. I'm not real big on Oatmeal cookies but the spices really made the cookie taste perfect! The spices in the cookie made the whole house smell great for the holidays when they were baking in the oven! We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSAKOVACS07

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would. I have never had such a great cookie. It is spicy but not savory. I gave them to a few neighbors and they were just ecstatic! I didn't change a thing and the cookies were unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States