Dad's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
These came out okay. I halved the recipe but still followed everything. They came out more "bready" than what I expect a chewy cookie to taste like. My husband liked them, but we're still searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Terrific recipe! I make these all the time. I omitted the allspice all together though and used ginger instead, same measurement. I also use whole wheat flour and all brown sugar for health reasons. I like this recipe b/c I can change it to my preferences and it still tastes great.Definatly not too spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
These are the best cookies I have had in a long time. They are so fast and so good. The only thing I changed is I used Whole Wheat Flour. But I don't think that it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHA81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Splendid cookies! Gone within a day. My family likes raisins and pecans, so I added them to half the dough and those were also delicious. Made them twice in 10 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
MMMMmmm ive been looking for a recipe like this. Although I did change it a bit when I made it. I made half the recipe (otherwise we would eat them all) and still got many cookies. I used rolled oats instead of quick cooking oats. Instead of adding each individual spice I added 3 tsp (6 in a full recipe) of pumpkin pie spice which comtains; cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I also added about a cup of raisins. These cookies were gone in a matter of hours. YUM oh and as others said....8 minutes did it for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I found this recipe about 6 years ago on this site and it has become one of our absolute family favorites ever since -- I love spices and these are ohh sooo good!!! perfect taste, chewy on the inside and with a slight crunch on the outside. I usually prepare the batter and freeze it up in little balls -- just pop them in the oven for a quick treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
These were delicious and disappeared in no time! I halved the recipie, and it gave me 30 cookies. The only changes I made were to put in half the cloves(I used 1/2 a teaspoon, so a full teaspoon on the full recipie) and I used regular cooking oats, not quick cooking. I also only baked these for 8 minutes, not 10, and they came out perfect. 10 minutes would have burnt them in my oven, but that's an oven to oven thing. These will certainly be made in this house again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
i made a few changes to these, and they were a hit -- i reduced the cloves by half, and added a cup each if chocolate chips and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
DEFINITELY a spice cookie, for the record. But a tasty one, I think I'll make these again at Christmas time. I put in 1/4 of the amount of spices required, and the spices were still strong enough, I can't imagine 2 tbsp of each. I think you would have to cut back even MORE (than 1/4) on the spices for it to really taste like Dad's cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Wow! These are delicious! I added 1 cup of cinnamon chips to the batch and will do that again! I brought the butter to room temperature so I did not wait 2 hours before baking. I used a stone for some cookies and non stick foil on other pans, no sticking! Also, I did not flatten the dough balls and they did great! These are spicy but this is exactly what we like! One problem, my oven runs fast and hot and mine were done in 8 minutes. The first batch got overdone. Just watch your oven. Thanks for a FABULOUS recipe that is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States