Dad's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
very good - chewy which is how a cookie like this should be ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
By far the best oatmeal cookies. I did add about 2 handfuls of raisens. Like the others have said, about 8 minutes in the oven is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I'm going to a cookie exchange and I wanted to test this recipe. It passed with flying colors. Note: I made these cookies with only cinnamon (doubled required amount) and baked them for 7 minutes on 350 degrees. It makes a very tasty, moist, and chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This are pretty good oatmeal cookies. I took them over to a friends house for a dessert and they all loved them. I used Pumpkin Pie spice instead of the other spices and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveham
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I've made a few changes that I think more closely replicate the original cookie as I remember it. They were more crunchy and flater. I reduced cloves (1 tsp), removed salt, reduced baking soda in half and added 1 tsp each ginger & nutmeg, and 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans. I also process oats until almost a powder. Lastly, I place a doz. per baking sheet with parchment paper and press between a 2nd baking sheet to flatten and I bake at 350 degrees for 9 min. Still can't get the color right...need to be a darker brown! Any ideas???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennyg2bfit
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I LOVE THESE COOKIES!! They are my all-time favorite. I've even made them with splenda and whole wheat flour and they still are amazing. Of course, the original recipe is THE best, but at the rate I eat these cookies, I need to lower the calories and up the nutritional value!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyg2bfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've made these several times & have made a few adjustments to my liking, although they are GREAT as is. I personally LOVE spicy cookies, so these were IT for me. Instead of allspice though, I added about 1 tsp each of nutmeg and cardamom. In another batch, I have also added ground ginger which made the cookies reminiscent of gingerbread. Also have made an "apple-cinnamon" variety by adding finely chopped apple, & extra cinnamon. I haven't made a combination that wasn't embraced by the people I share it with! Some changes that I always make: I cut the white sugar to a half cup & use splenda, add more oatmeal (1/2 cup to 1 cup more - I like my cookies with that nutty texture), and I bake them a few minutes longer b/c I like my cookies crunchy/crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These are fabulous...my husband and children are in heaven! They are nice and crispy on the outside, and soft in the middle with an unresistable spicy flavor. I did bake them just a bit longer than the 10 minutes so they were nice and golden. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I have been searching for an oatmeal cookie recipe that is similar to the cookies my boyfriend's grandmother used to bake him when he was little. These were fantastic! I didn't have any allspice or cloves, but added ginger and nutmeg instead. We will definitley be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
these came out fabulous!! i replaced the allspice with ginger, but kept the rest of the recipe the same. it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States