Dad's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I think this is a good recipe. I loved Dad's Oatmeal Cookies as a child. This recipe is close to it. Some have said in their reviews that the recipe as written is too spicy and I agree so I went with all the cinnamon and cut in half the allspice and cloves - seemed much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have struggled to find a recipe for oatmeal cookies that has that just-right chewy texture and cinnamon spice flavor like my mom used to make. This one is it! Other recipes made weird, puffy, cookies that were dry and salty. The main modification I made is that I never used cloves (because I never have any, and I usually use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup butter flavor shortening. The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BANDGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My boyfriend made these last night and they were soo good! He made a half batch due to a shortage on butter and thanks whoever mentioned the pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moserj2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I agree with Lena54, this is not the Dad's Oatmeal cookie recipe that we used to buy in Baltimore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Although these cookies were okay, they were not Dad's Oatmeal Cookies from Baltimore. I grew up on Dad's Oatmeal Cookies and was heartbroken when they left from off of Pratt Street They weren't this spicy. Some of the spices need to be eliminated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
chewy cookie which is the good part but the spices make this cookie very over powering. If I make this cookie again I am definetly skipping out the allspice and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlyle, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Perfection! Thank you, kedend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanelli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were good - my kids LOVED them - the only change I made was to add some raisins. They were a bit "cakey" for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe...well worth the time to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebbies37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These cookies taste EXACTLY like the original Dad's oatmeal cookies! We love them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States