Dad's New Zealand Mince Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by frenchy
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This loose meat mixture was good, sweet, and very flavorful. I followed the recipe EXACTLY except I halved it because we are a small family. I only put in two teaspoons of pepper because my family doesn't like hot things and thats all I did differently. Not bad served on a bun, or over a potato. It reminds me of a German curry wurst, except instead of bratwurst there is ground beef in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
this is exactly like MY dads mince stew :) love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I loved this recipe!! I too however tweaked it just a tad.. I used 1 medium sized onion instead of the 3 large onions that are called for in the recipe, and instead of using onion powder (which I couldn't find anywhere) I used a packet of dry onion soup mix. This helped to thicken the stew and cut back on the extra half a cup of water. I used ordinary tomato paste (half a cup) instead of ketchup and added some chili flakes for a little more kick. I also followed the suggestions of many other reviewers and cut the pepper down slightly, although I ended up adding more to my serving anyway! Frozen mixed vegetables were added to the stew but I think the recipe will be better with some chunky cut potatoes. All in all very delicious and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I halved this recipe and was glad I did since it wasn't the hit I thought it would be with my husband. I added some carrots, peas and a layer of mashed potatoes on top. I also cut the pepper to 1 tablespoon and put everything in the crockpot after completing step one. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I used less pepper - and am glad I did! Had no teriyaki sauce so used soy sauce instead.I cooked the meat and onions together in one step, and shortened the cooking time by 1/2. I also didn't need to add the flour and water, it was quite thick enough. I added sliced carrots and peas to the pan toward the end of the cooking period. Served over rice. My husband loved the mix of spices. Will make again (with less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
very tasty, no complaints at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This went down a treat and I served it with corn bread! So easy to make, such a treat to eat! Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I accidentally burned it a little but it was still incredibly delicious! We also used ground turkey which smells very bad but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe and my husband raved about it. As I was in a hurry I simmered for about 20 mins, added some peas, carrot & mushrooms then topped with potato & cheese and baked in the oven. As recommended by others I didn't add anywhere near as much pepper as the recipe calls for. This would be great over pasta so I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was delicious! I used stewing meat instead of ground beef and reduced the pepper by half. Served over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States