Dad's New Zealand Mince Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This is an excellent recipe and can be used many different ways. I did reduce the amount of pepper, 2 tsps.and added a small amount of cayenne since so many had suggested using less, and 3 T. seemed way to much for the average taste and it was still very spicy. I also used 1/2 T. curry and only one ex-large onion. I didn't have teriyaki so used worchestershire which worked and fixed it as a shepards pie by topping with mashed potatoes and shredded cheddar, excellent. Will make many more times and I found it to still be quite spicy even with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
HUM..Interesting dish. I would say this is a tweaker recipe. A good base, but you would really have to modify this dish to your taste. Maybe the amount of curry? I followed as instructed! Reviews from my family were, edible, but ple...ase do not make again. Sorry, it's just not for our taste buds. I like trying recipes as they are written, not when you have to tweak them, otherwise they become MY, recipes. TWO STARS for EDIBLE, and DELETED from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
Thank you for such an awesome recipe. When I make it I double it and freeze half. Had no teriyaki sauce so put in Worchestire (sp?) instead. Followed the comments from others and used it for sheperd's pie, added some veggies and had it on pasta, just plain on toasted garlic bread. I freeze it in large ziplock bags and throw it in the cooler for camping. Very adaptable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I made this for my husband and I. For the time it takes to cook, it really didn't seem worth it. It was okay, but we couldn't bring ourselves to eat the mountain of leftovers we had. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
full of flavor, but I will have to modify for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Blue Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
The recipe was good and I followed a few suggestions like putting veges in and making it into a shepards pie, but I think the ketchup was too much flavour for me. Next time I think I'll put in half tomato sauce and half ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
After all of the previous reviews I expected something fantastic. While this has a nice flavour it is far too sweet. For all the time needed with all the simmering etc. this is really just okay, and according to my family NOT a keeper. Thanks for sharing just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I have nothing but good things to say about this recipe. This is the best way I've prepared ground beef in a long time; it could very well be the best ever! As suggested in the other reviews I added some corn, carrots, and frozen peas, then created a cheddar-topped sheppard's pie. My brother and I were in heaven; he even got up the next morning and ate the leftovers before I could, and this is a guy who won't ever touch leftover ANYTHING! So if you've just found this recipe and are reading this review, here's my advice: TRY IT TRY IT TRY IT!!! You'll be amazed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELAGH420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I made a Sheppard's Pie out of this recipe. I tweaked it by adding some frozen peas and chopped carrots - then covering the meat mixture with garlic smashed potatoes. I adjusted the seasonings and only added 12 tspn of pepper and curry. The result was amazing. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Went on a limb looking for shepherds pie and thought Id try this. Let me say this is THE only recipe youll need. I took the basic recipe and added here and deleted there. Its great. Thanks very much for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONK316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States