Dad's New Zealand Mince Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Add lots of vegatable, was a bit sweet, which was a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Good base for extra's, I also added diced carrot, corn & peas. Topped it with a cheddar mash, I think it needs the tangy taste from the cheese to cut the richness of the mince. I kept to the recipe other than that, don't think the pepper is overwhelming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a close approximation of what I would consider a typical New Zealand mince stew. But we don't have onion powder here and don't use garlic powder or teriyaki sauce (we use soy sauce). I wonder if it's been Americanised a bit. We usually have peas and carrots in the stew as well. The first day we serve it on toast. The next day it will thicken up a bit so the leftovers become shepherd's pie. It's the traditional food for those on a tight budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriam Hughes
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is still in my crock-pot, it smells divine. I adjusted the recipe a bit. I cut the amount of mince in half and added 3 peeled and cubed potatoes, 2 peeled and cubed kumara (sweet potato if you are North American), 2 diced carrots, 2 diced stalks of celery. I also added an envelope of Wattie's dark gravy paste along with the recipe ingredients. I'm going to make biscuits to go with it and some corn on the cob. YUM! Can't wait until dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Super tasty but whoa, too much pepper! I only used 1 tablespoon and that was still too spicy for my family. I served it like chili...topped with sour cream, shredded cheese and some cilantro. I am going to use the leftovers for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Real tasty, I think the ketchup is the key BUT does it need to be cooked for so long? Who knows? I cooked it for about half an hour, mixed some broccoli sprigs with curly pasta as the pasta was almost cooked and was eating and ENJOYING 45 mins from the start. Luvly grub. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! I've mixed in noodles or topped with mashed potatoes or served it in bread bowls - absolutely delicious! Friends take one bite and IMMEDIATELY ask for the recipe. (The only thing I've changed is less black pepper - even 1 Tbs of it still gives it a nice kick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was pretty good - like a spicy sloppy joes, as a previous reviewer mentioned. I used a couple of ingredients I'd never cooked with before; I guess "Soy Vay" Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce counts as a real teriyaki sauce - there are so many variations on teriyaki sauce, I find. And I belatedly noticed that "Kitchen Basics" Beef Flavor Stock isn't a pure beef stock but includes vegetables and other flavorings. But I guess these more or less suffice for the teriyaki sauce and beef stock ingredients. Anyhow, this recipe was a bit of work! It was very tasty and lasted me for a few meals. I like spicy food, and was pleasantly surprised by this (I'm not used to curry powder). But my palate is not too sensitive, so I'm not sure I even noticed some other flavors, like teriyaki and garlic - maybe the pepper and curry are too overwhelming. I enjoyed eating this New Zealand recipe, but I probably won't make it again since it's so much work. Thanks for an interesting recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Very easy and super tasty - The only change I made was a bit less ketchup and a bit more teriyaki and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAFFIREBLUES1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Made this for my honorary kiwi and we both loved it! After reading the reviews, I used less pepper and after accidentally mis-reading the recipe, I used a tablespoon of garlic powder (!) and it was still great. I substituted tomato sauce and stewed tomatoes for the ketchup, as well. This is a very flavorful soup/stew that was reminicent of a beanless chili, maybe. Delicious. Next time I'll double the recipe! Thanks for posting, Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States