Dad's Magic Bar Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my recipe- the filling pipes best if you use FINELY grated cheese and I also freeze these after the second breading and fry frozen. Store any un-used olives in the freezer. I also fry in a very small saucepan and use about 1 cup of oil. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These were delicious! I made them exactly as written, but I missed a step (oops!) and breaded them before freezing a first time. No worries, they worked out perfectly! The double breading really ensures a nice crust. I was planning on waiting until hubby got home from work before frying them, but I couldn't wait any longer, lol, and went ahead and did it. My little guy really loved these too! Thanks, Kathleen for another wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I approached this recipe in a playful mood, and decided to do it like a "Mythbusters" episode. ... My first attempt was with olives a LOT smaller than these. Now, some people will tell you that stuffing small olives is a pain in the neck, but I have have a much lower opinion! ... Ditto for the breading! ... The small olive results were quite good, but not enough oliviness for my taste. ... The larger olives however, were MUCH easier to handle. ... After trying both, I present my findings: #1, the stuffing mixture is good and works in both sorts of olive, and is really quite good without the breading and frying. ... #2, single-coated breading is a waste of time, because subsequent frying (I shallow fry mine - rolling them around as they cook) makes the stuffing ooze out, completely from the smaller olives in some instances (but soaking it all up with a slice of bread and frying that bread was very good). ... #3, double breading is the business, works well and is more than well worth it. ... "Myth" confirmed - delicious, particularly with the larger olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Really excellent and worth the prep time. And you can use other cheeses if you like, make it as spicy as you want by adding chilli flakes and so on and so on. But the recipe is superb just as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I would never have thought of this. Truly scrumptious. Thanks, Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made these for a 'tasting' party. I should have doubled the recipe. They were absolutely fantastic! I used the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made these for my husband & I and we both enjoyed them...stuffing/filling the olives was a little labour intensive though! I also baked half of them (in the oven at 350 for about 10 mins) & then fried the other half in a pan. The frying was definitely better (like most things are better fried!) but actually the baking was quite good too and is definitely a good, healthy alternative. I will make these again, although I did think they were going to end up tasting a bit better than they were, but still, were good. Just a side note: They are really "olive-y"...so make sure whoever eats them like olives. I make other olive balls (with green olives) that even my friend who hates olives loves & she always asks me to make them - these would be too strong for her I think...however, I love green olives so they were good for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Did not meet my expectations. They just tasted like fried green olives. The cheese filling was bland and I think the olives overpowered the small amount of filling. I was goint to take them to a tasting party. Glad I made them for a dress rehearsal the night before. I chose a new recipe for the party. Prev review was right on - about them being very "olivey". Too much prep but not enough "wow" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
If you like green olives - you will LOVE these! I made them for a martini party, and the people who like green olives loved them! My vegetarian friend raved about them! I like that you can freeze them too before cooking. i always look for appetizers I can make ahead and freeze. So much easier. Thanks! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These tasted fine, but just were not worth the effort. They just tasted like green olives to me; the pepper jack was not even noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States