Dad's Magic Bar Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Wonderful! I have been making these for almost 2 years. I love that you can keep them in the freezer and cook a few at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
they were very good.. I rolled them in flour then the eggs and then I used panko bread crumbs. the stayed crispy and yummy ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were pretty good, but the effort doesn't really match the end result. After spending so much time trying to stuff the olives, I realized it would have been much easier to purchase pre-stuffed olives with cheese and just add a tab of tabasco. The breading was also a bit tricky. It seemed to easily fall off the olive when frying, and if you fry them right out of the freezer then the outside heats much faster than the inside. It might be better to flash fry and then bake so the cheese can melt without the breading burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We enjoyed these....double breading is a must and freezing is as well. I used black olives instead of green ...kind of a pain to stuff....but worth it....a different kind of appy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These tasted fine, but just were not worth the effort. They just tasted like green olives to me; the pepper jack was not even noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
If you like green olives - you will LOVE these! I made them for a martini party, and the people who like green olives loved them! My vegetarian friend raved about them! I like that you can freeze them too before cooking. i always look for appetizers I can make ahead and freeze. So much easier. Thanks! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Did not meet my expectations. They just tasted like fried green olives. The cheese filling was bland and I think the olives overpowered the small amount of filling. I was goint to take them to a tasting party. Glad I made them for a dress rehearsal the night before. I chose a new recipe for the party. Prev review was right on - about them being very "olivey". Too much prep but not enough "wow" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made these for my husband & I and we both enjoyed them...stuffing/filling the olives was a little labour intensive though! I also baked half of them (in the oven at 350 for about 10 mins) & then fried the other half in a pan. The frying was definitely better (like most things are better fried!) but actually the baking was quite good too and is definitely a good, healthy alternative. I will make these again, although I did think they were going to end up tasting a bit better than they were, but still, were good. Just a side note: They are really "olive-y"...so make sure whoever eats them like olives. I make other olive balls (with green olives) that even my friend who hates olives loves & she always asks me to make them - these would be too strong for her I think...however, I love green olives so they were good for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made these for a 'tasting' party. I should have doubled the recipe. They were absolutely fantastic! I used the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I would never have thought of this. Truly scrumptious. Thanks, Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States