Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was the best ever! I followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. Made two 9" pies. Great for left over Thanksgiving turkey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
so I halved the recipe for a single pie. I also used broccoli instead of peas, carrots, and green beans, because of preference. I skipped the celery salt because I didn't have it, and substituted heavy cream for the milk to make the mixture thicker. It was done in 35 minutes, and everyone else thought it was great. I felt it was bland, but that could have been because I was mentally comparing it to the cheesy Marie Calender's pot pies. Next time I'd add carrots as well as more onions and mushrooms, and I'd try it with chicken instead of turkey. UPDATE: I made it again to use up a rotisserie chicken, with a bunch of mods. Used 2c frozen carrot/broccoli/cauliflower mix for the veggies, skipped the celery, did 1/2 c. onions, added 5 sliced mushrooms, and kept the heavy whipping cream instead of milk (though I would try milk in the future). I realized after I made the mixture that I only had 1 pie crust, so I used that on the bottom and a can of Grands biscuits stretched out for the top. If you use biscuits on the top, you don't need a bottom crust - too much bread! I preferred the crust, though. mushrooms were good add, I'll keep using those, and I like this mix of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I gave this recipe to my DIL and she tried it with the leftover meat from Thanksgiving. It was easy to throw together and it was a BIG HIT!!! We thought there would be leftovers for the next day, but that was not the case at all. The men just kept taking a little more and a little more until it was gone. Make sure to let the recipe set for awhile after you take it out of the oven. We did not have a problem with it being too runny. Just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe is shown (other than simmering the vegetables in the broth), and it was awesome! A great way to use up my leftover turkey. Kids were skeptical, but one loved it and the other won't admit she liked it (but I think she did.) Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at a pot pie and I must say I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was and tasty! I will definitely make it this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe - even my persnickitty husband approved. I hate using the cream of whatever soup and was pleased that this didn't call for it. Used fresh veggies, omitted the green beans and added more peas & carrots. Next time will add potatoes. Not runny, not gluey, perfect. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Tasty way to serve leftover turkey. Even the kids cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this recipe tonight...and am SO happy that it made 2. Will be freezing it for another day. I didn't have green beans but it was still delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was delicious! I added chopped mushrooms (finishing up my leftover produce). I have a large family, so I bought a puff pastry sheet and baked our "pie" in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
When cooking for my dad, who sticks to a very low sodium diet, I found this recipe to be a big winner. I left out the salt, used no salt chicken broth, and exchanged the italian seasoning for poultry seasoning. It is was fabulous! No one would ever guess that it was lower sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States