Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My go to Turkey Pot Pie recipe from now on!! I had some leftover carrots and celery so I diced those up and used them, and then used canned veggies to make up the difference. I also had some leftover mashed potatoes so I added a layer of those to the filling as well. Used skim milk that was in the fridge. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family loves this dish. House smells so great when it's cooking. The best result was with a highly flavored smoked Turkey someone had sent us for Christmas. I added a little liquid smoke when I made with regular roasted turkey. Still delicious but not quite as flavorful. Will up the onions and herbs next time and make sure my roux is slightly brown before adding veggies. Love that there are no potatoes in it. Can add those on the side when feeding teenaged boys, and pass on them for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made a version of this and my family loved it. Instead of making 2 Pies I made one big casserole in an 11x17 shallow roasting pan. I used 2 Crusts on the bottom and two on the top. I had 9 to feed. I didn't measure anything and opted to not add milk. a few tbsp of flour (4ish)and lots of butter to fry the onions and veggies in. For spice I did poultry seasoning , salt and ground pepper. Added 4 cups of stock and added potatoes . I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Mcintyre Distefano

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I thought the kids would like mini pot pies, so I made this using cupcake tins. The hubby and I thought it was great! I used leftover chicken and less spices because I didn't have the others, and it was still really good. None of my kids liked it though, but they have never pot pie before. oh well, it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is great! The spices were perfect. I substituted my turkey stock from my roasted turkey, and added 1/2 cup fat free half and half and it was the perfect consistency. I used diced parsnips, carrots, potatoes, corn, and celery that I par cooked in the microwave with a little bit of water to preserve nutritional value. I also used pearl onions that I sautéed in only 1/3 cup of butter. I used puff pastry on the top of 4 ramekins and one full pie. The best pot pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama D
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The filling is amazing! My favourite way to make this pie is with fresh carrots (half a bunch), red potatoes, and fresh green beans. I also have a tendency to make mini pies or pasties out if it. Last time I didn't have enough turkey so I also added a can of chicken... It was perfect! I will be using this filling recipe for other pies as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This turned out PERFECT! I had never made a pot pie before and this was simple easy and tasty. (And fortunately I had all the seasonings in the cupboard!) I didn't have frozen veggies but substituted steamed fresh and it all turned out perfectly fine. Like the description says, 'It won't last long'!! You might want to consider making 2 or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was an absolutely delicious recipe ! Will definitely make this again and again.The only thing I did different was leave out green beans , add corn and boil veggies in chicken broth. My very finicky husband had seconds !! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made this recipe tonight. I was looking for a recipe for leftover turkey that didn't use any of the Cream of soups. I used a bag of mixed veggies as others have stated and put in some Poultry Seasoning. My family really liked it. The only thought was that there was too much pepper in it. I call this a Keeper Recipe - just would use less pepper and some Poultry Seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have made this three times now, and I have to say it is delicious! My family requested their own pies to take home it was so good. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States