Dad's Kickin' Jamaican Wings, Mon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Why settle for commercial "finger-lickin' good" when you can have these? Absolutely fantastic, and not too spicy for us. Because I didn't have jerk seasoning blend on hand, I added jerk flavours to the dip. The ingredients that went into the blender were all the above plus one onion, 2 1/2 tsp. thyme, 2 tsp. allspice, 2 tsp. black pepper, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cayenne, and salt instead of the jerk seasoning blend. While the flavour was out of this world, the other revelation was the long cooking at a lower temperature. Usually I make my wings at a higher temp for a shorter time, and while they're good, the texture was much better this way: crispy on the outside, and meltingly tender on the inside. I'll never cook wings at a higher temp ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
These wings were out of this world. Very easy to make. Loved the longer cooking time at lower temperature. Managed to hide a few for reheating the next day...even better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
These were not as "kickin" as I hoped they would be. Marinaded them overnight in the pasty marinade, but they were still very bland. They smelled great cooking and the little bit of flavor they did have was very good. I don't know how to rescue these. Maybe some vinegar in the marinade to help it penetrate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These were very good wings. I couldn't believe how moist and tender they were! I only had one pound of wings, so I followed the conversion for 2 servings. I didn't have any green onions, so I just left that out. And I only let it marinate for about two hours. I served this over white rice with raisins cooked in-this gave a little balance to the spice. I was not expecting it to be very spicy, due to other reviews, and they were right. But my husband and I found it a unique, flavorful burn. I suggest liberally adding salt once it is on your plate. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aalen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
If I could give these wings 6 stars, I most certainly would. They are wonderfully tender and delicious; I love the flavor of jerk (don't make these if you don't have this spice mixture!) especially combined with green onion and jalepeno. Short of a trip to Jamaica, well, nothing could be more IRIE on a chilly Minnesota day......or on a warm one, for that matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were the most delicious wings I have ever made. I could not believe that they turned out crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Yummy !! My husband loved them, great snack while he watched the World Series.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
These were very good, but I really expected the them to have more flavor and spice. I had some difficulty getting the sauce to mix in my blender. I had to add extra oil. Even then, it would have been difficult to dip the wings and have any sauce left over. I marinated my wings in a freezer bag and removed all the air to allow the most contact with the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very nice flavor and low in fat. Used Olive Oil and placed in ziploc bag overnight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VH
Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! When I blended everything together I was just sure it wasn't enough for all the chicken. I put it all in the baggy with the wings and sure enough there was plenty of sauce. I love the slow cooking, just wonderful and the taste was amazing! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These are very good. My family couldn't stop eating them. I paired this dish with baked beans and coleslaw for an overall yummy meal. The sauce has a fresh and flavorful taste. Following are the changes I made or will make the next time I make these: 1. Use fresh jalapeno instead of pickled. I did and it is the way to go for added fresh taste. 2. Make more sauce than the recipe calls for. The chicken can be somewhat dry if you use all of the sauce prior to roasting. This sauce is so good that you can use the extra for dipping and added moisture after they are done cooking. 3. Rotate the wings every 30 minutes. I neglected to do this and while they were quite good, they ended up being kind of burnt on one side and not very crisp on the other. Overall, an excellent recipe and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States