Dad's Kickin' Jamaican Wings, Mon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made this tonight for the first time. I did make some changes, but not so much to the ingredients in the recipe. I did halve the recipe because there are only two of us. The only other change I made was to leave out the jalapenos. I use McCormack's Jamaican Jerk seasoning quite a bit, and thought it would be spicy enough without the peppers. I was right, for our taste. What I did differently was the time marinading. By the time I found the recipe I didn't have time to go to the grocery and then marinade the wings. I got a bag of frozen wings, and put the jerk directly on the chicken wing pieces, and popped them in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour. They were fabulous! My husband said they were the best chicken wings he'd ever eaten, and suggested we have people over during the NCAA tournament to have some! I've put myself on a strict diet, so I did some calculations to make sure I stayed within the 230 calories given in the nutrition section of this recipe, and figured I could have 4 chicken wing pieces. I served it with black beans and rice (I had 1/2 cup serving and it's more than you think), and it was a great dinner. I didn't feel at all deprived. I will be making this again and again because we both love Caribbean food. Thanks so much for this wonderful and easy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I love this recipe, with one huge difference, I made my own jerk seasoning, (spicy), with another recipe from this sight. I would find it bland as many others have commented if I had not.I let them marinade overnight, and for the last 2 mins cooking time I put them under the broiler and got them extra crispy, nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by warbuckle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
AMAZING! Never made homemade wings before, but loved these and they were a great hit at our party. Definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissyw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is very good. I didnt have ginger, onions, or a blender. But it worked in my nutribullet. Cant wait to make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katacus

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
OK I am not a huge Hot lover, but my hubby is. He loved these. Didn't burn the hell out of him, but he liked them a lot. Kinda middle ground. Too spicey for me. But him and the boys loved them. Even the Jamaican in the crowd loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
First of all the presentation was not so good. The wings were a very odd and unappealing green color. Beyond that the flavor was bland and in no way "Kickin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by james rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made a few modifications based on the other reviews and it was perfect! I kept all the ingredients the same except I added about 2 tbsp extra of the jerk seasoning because someone complained that the wings could get dry. I also used fresh jalepenos. I wanted these wings very spicy so I kept adding jalepenos to the blender until I was satisfied (it was about 4 or 5). I marinated in a ziplock bag overnight. I was a little worried about the cooking time but it turned out fine. I did turn the wings every 1/2 hour and also spoon the sauce on every time I turned them. I had some left over the next day and it was even better. If I was serving this to guests, I would cook it the night before. NOTE: I think some people were confused about the jerk seasoning. This is not dry seasoning like McCormicks. It's more of a wet rub like Walkerswood Jerk Seasoning. I like to use 4 tbsp of the mild Walkerswood and 1 tbsp of the spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong, but these wings came out green. Perhaps too much marinate, but the flavor was good. Because of the color I may not make these wings again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I prepared this recipe last week and it was delicious. I did not have jalapeno peppers so I used Habernaro peppers instead. I also did not have fresh ginger and used ground ginger. They were delicious. I am preparing them again today. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I'm a wing freak and these were absolutely the best. I always have wings as one of many appetizers for parties and these are going on the menu as a repeat for the second time in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States