Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
took a little longer then fifteen minutes but it was worth the wait. Very tasty and my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very good potatoes. Not something we can get away with eating every day, but a special treat once in a while. I partially pre-cook the potatoes in the microwave (or use leftovers) so they cook up quicker and splatter less in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Can't go wrong with something as simple as this. I do like to add the green pepper sometimes. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Don't know why they are called Kentucky Home Fries, you can get this in any diner in Pennsylvania! But, they are very good, I usually add some garlic powder as well, and at times I use them to make what I call a "Garbage Plate". Scrambled eggs, home fries, cheese, and bacon all mixed together--now that's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Added more seasonings and like Chellebelle, I pre-cooked my potatoes. Went nicely with our chicken last evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I also added more seasoning. Instead of slicing my potatoes I cubed them. Delicous. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are Wonderful! But, I have been making them all my life, and I am from Alabama. No matter where you are from, they are still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Yum! Went well with River Omelets from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These are wonderful. I have been making them just this way for years. Sometimes I like to add just a touch of garlic. I also like to cover mine between stirring to help soften up the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I cook the potatoes for about 10 minutes first, then add the onions and peppers and cook for another 10 minutes... it keeps the onions from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States