Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These are wonderful. I have been making them just this way for years. Sometimes I like to add just a touch of garlic. I also like to cover mine between stirring to help soften up the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
One of DH's specialties- He spices them up a little with some grill seasoning and garlic powder. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very good potatoes. Not something we can get away with eating every day, but a special treat once in a while. I partially pre-cook the potatoes in the microwave (or use leftovers) so they cook up quicker and splatter less in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love these potatoes, I always add butter in additon to the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are Wonderful! But, I have been making them all my life, and I am from Alabama. No matter where you are from, they are still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
WOnderful! This is just how I grew up eating my fried potatoes. It doesn't matter whether you slice them, chunk them, quarter them, or shred them, they are awesome. These must be done in a cast iron skillet, it just isn't the same in any other pan. I add lots of black pepper to mine as well. This is my favorite, but really unhealthy, way to eat potatoes. Wrap these in a flour tortilla with scrambled egg and serve with hot sauce, yummy! Great for breakfast or dinner as a side dish. Good Southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fixin this way is much better than any other. WIth a big crowd for breakfast, I cube 'em & par boil for about 5 minutes. Refrigerate overnight. My big electric roaster works for a frying pan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This has been my favorite Texas food since childhood. I love to eat the hot potatoes/onions with cold ketchup. There have to be some extra-crispy areas on the taters. Maybe we should just say it's great home cooking with working class roots?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I also added more seasoning. Instead of slicing my potatoes I cubed them. Delicous. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My mom was from KY and made this recipe a lot. She liked to add a dash of sugar too. It's delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States