Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I sprinkled the potatoes with a little Johnny's seasoning salt (instead of regular salt) and fresh ground pepper but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. Delicious. I made these to go along chili dogs. My husband said this is exactly how HIS dad made home fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! These "Kentucky style" home fries were very easy to prepare and very good. I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved my potaotes to cut down on cooking time. The bacon drippings while I admit aren't the most "healthy" really gave the home fries a nice flavor. All I added a little garlic, a bit of salt and peper with a dash of paprika and they were perfect with eggs, bacon and toast. What more could you want for breakfast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These are wonderful. I have been making them just this way for years. Sometimes I like to add just a touch of garlic. I also like to cover mine between stirring to help soften up the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I cook the potatoes for about 10 minutes first, then add the onions and peppers and cook for another 10 minutes... it keeps the onions from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
WOnderful! This is just how I grew up eating my fried potatoes. It doesn't matter whether you slice them, chunk them, quarter them, or shred them, they are awesome. These must be done in a cast iron skillet, it just isn't the same in any other pan. I add lots of black pepper to mine as well. This is my favorite, but really unhealthy, way to eat potatoes. Wrap these in a flour tortilla with scrambled egg and serve with hot sauce, yummy! Great for breakfast or dinner as a side dish. Good Southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This has been my favorite Texas food since childhood. I love to eat the hot potatoes/onions with cold ketchup. There have to be some extra-crispy areas on the taters. Maybe we should just say it's great home cooking with working class roots?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very good potatoes. Not something we can get away with eating every day, but a special treat once in a while. I partially pre-cook the potatoes in the microwave (or use leftovers) so they cook up quicker and splatter less in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Don't know why they are called Kentucky Home Fries, you can get this in any diner in Pennsylvania! But, they are very good, I usually add some garlic powder as well, and at times I use them to make what I call a "Garbage Plate". Scrambled eggs, home fries, cheese, and bacon all mixed together--now that's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fixin this way is much better than any other. WIth a big crowd for breakfast, I cube 'em & par boil for about 5 minutes. Refrigerate overnight. My big electric roaster works for a frying pan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is an old recipe. My mom used it 60 years ago or more. She would slice the potatoes in rounds. Fattening yes. High in carbs. Yes. But oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States