Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My mom was from KY and made this recipe a lot. She liked to add a dash of sugar too. It's delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I grew up on these!! sometimes my mom would add some green pepper or mushrooms too, it's a great base recipe that you can play with and it's totally delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
One of DH's specialties- He spices them up a little with some grill seasoning and garlic powder. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is an old recipe. My mom used it 60 years ago or more. She would slice the potatoes in rounds. Fattening yes. High in carbs. Yes. But oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fixin this way is much better than any other. WIth a big crowd for breakfast, I cube 'em & par boil for about 5 minutes. Refrigerate overnight. My big electric roaster works for a frying pan. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love these potatoes, I always add butter in additon to the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe was was pretty good. I was trying to make the diner type of home fries that you can get in in ny. I added a pinch ofgarlic powder and a lil paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These were very delicious. I used a shallot because I didn't have an onion on hand. I also added garlic salt and montreal steak seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This has been my favorite Texas food since childhood. I love to eat the hot potatoes/onions with cold ketchup. There have to be some extra-crispy areas on the taters. Maybe we should just say it's great home cooking with working class roots?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
WOnderful! This is just how I grew up eating my fried potatoes. It doesn't matter whether you slice them, chunk them, quarter them, or shred them, they are awesome. These must be done in a cast iron skillet, it just isn't the same in any other pan. I add lots of black pepper to mine as well. This is my favorite, but really unhealthy, way to eat potatoes. Wrap these in a flour tortilla with scrambled egg and serve with hot sauce, yummy! Great for breakfast or dinner as a side dish. Good Southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States