Dad's Kentucky Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very good! Lots of flavor & easy to make even for a camping trip foil dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Don't know why they're called "Kentucky" homefries. I've always made them this way and am Canadian. (I also cook my pancakes in a small amount of bacon fat.) As suggested, I add onions half-way through. I don't any any salt, pepper, garlic granules or spices (summer savoury is my choice) until the last few minutes; otherwise, they burn and don't add much flavour. I don't recommend covering with a lid as someone suggested; they'll be soggy because they'll be steamed! If we have leftover steak from the night before, I slice and add for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I grew up with these potatoes and still make them this way for my family. They're the best but even better with more onion and some garlic salt. Cayenne pepper makes them really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are the best fried potatoes you'll ever make. My mom made this recipe when I was a child, and she called them "American Fried Potatoes." The secret is the bacon drippings!!! If you use any other kind of oil, your results will be mediocre at best. I use more onion than this recipe calls for, and more bacon drippings too. I also add garlic powder. I add potatoes to the heated drippings/skillet, cover, cook ten minutes on one side, flip potatoes over and cook another ten minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUG53

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
You can't go wrong with this one and it's always a hit! If you're feeling lazy, you don't even have to peel the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
a very good but a bit bland ! cooked bacon put aside added potatoes used red and russet , didnt peel or cube so put in microwave for 3 minutes before cooking cooked potatoes for a few minutes i added green onions, onions, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! These "Kentucky style" home fries were very easy to prepare and very good. I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved my potaotes to cut down on cooking time. The bacon drippings while I admit aren't the most "healthy" really gave the home fries a nice flavor. All I added a little garlic, a bit of salt and peper with a dash of paprika and they were perfect with eggs, bacon and toast. What more could you want for breakfast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is what my dad made for breakfast on the weekends as a side to eggs and bacon, we called it "farm food". He's from Missouri, I think this dish happens anywhere there's German influence. MO, PA, TX, etc. as it vaguely resembles a German potato salad. Anyway, it's the greatest of breakfast comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My mom was from KY and made this recipe a lot. She liked to add a dash of sugar too. It's delicious with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I grew up on these!! sometimes my mom would add some green pepper or mushrooms too, it's a great base recipe that you can play with and it's totally delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States