Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
5 stars for being a good and flexible recipe, an improvement over how most folks make this dish in my state of WA. Most local recipes require all the milk at the same time. That never made the sauce this good. What I love about the method described in this Dad's... is that this way makes a better gravy, with the milk used for two steps, the deglazing and then the thickening. I did modify: here's how: 1. I always put a tsp of Olive Oil and start to caramelize onions BEFORE I put the ground beef in so that I never have undercooked onions. 2. I chopped one fresh clove of garlic and added just after the beef. 3. I substituted "BetterThanBouilllon" BEEF for CHICKEN bouillon. 4. I added 1 TBL worcestershire sauce. 5. I added 1 TSP Creole Seasoning Mix. The flavor blend of the sage, butter, Creole, w. sauce and beef with 2% milk was truly unique and palate pleasing. It made this go from a customary to a surprisingly delightful surprising twist on a favorite. Finally, I used a cast iron skillet, which may have added to the texture and flavor balancing so nicely. Thank you for superior steps in preparation for the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I used this recipe for biscuits and gravy when I didn't have any sausage and a craving one evening. It was pretty good! I halved the recipe, used almond milk instead of regular, and so added some more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent. I wish I would have added a little Garlic salt and fresh ground Black Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Villier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very straightforward and easy to make. Follow the recipe to the letter and you'll have the desired product. Taste was good but very vanilla - you may want to doctor it up with some more seasoning. The sage was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Second day we served it over egg noodles, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Haven't tried this but an easier way and possibly more flavor is cook the hamburger and add Cream of Mushroom soup instead with some milk and if you want to thicken it up add some flour. Its also good if you add some sour cream to it or bake it for a bit in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used a pound of meat, and it was still too much hamburger for us. Next time, I will only use a half pound. I also only used three cups of milk total. It was very bland. I added a lot of other spices to make this edible. The process works, though it's no substitute for browned flour gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat541

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I really liked it.i made it for my family, and my brothers and sisters loved it! I did add oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is very good. It tastes like a good sausge gravey. Will use often. I did cut in half as there is just two of us and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I basically just looked at the ingredients and took it from there. Did not have boullon but I had seasoning from ramen noodles and used that. This turned out real good like my mom and dad use to make. So easy and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States