Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. The only minor change I made was that after browning the beef I took it out and fried up 4 strips of bacon to crispy perfection and used both the beef and bacon grease. I took out the bacon and put back the beef and continued the recipe as written. At the end when the gravy is thickened and I was adding the salt and pepper, I added the crumbled bacon. I will be using this as my staple hamburger gravy from now on! Delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Well, I followed the recipe and gave it a taste and it seemed so plain. So I had to add some spices to bring out some flavor. I doubled the amount of sage, added some cayenne, oregano, seasoned salt and white pepper. And a splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
WOW!!! I loved this recipe, the only the thing i changed is, i didn't have any onion (my family doesn't like them) so i used 2 teaspoons of garlic powder.......i doubled the recipe and it made ALOT!!! Will def. make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It's good and great for a fast meal. I wouldn't use the butter, I didn't find it necessary. We added mushrooms and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
not too shaby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
The sage made this recipe super good! I used lower fat ground turkey and it was awesome! Everyone in my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I can now make gravy that's actually edible! Thank you whoever for this recipe! My family loves it over egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is a fabulous gravy recipe! My family loved it! Because we like thinks rich & spicy I added some red pepper flakes to the sausage as it cooked and replaced some of the milk with heavy cream! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heppner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Hubster wanted biscuits & gravy for breakfast and we didn't have any sausage, so we thought we'd give this gravy a try. It was delicious! It was a perfect thick & creamy texture. Didn't have any chicken bouillon granules, so I used seasoned salt and added a clove of minced garlic to make up for it. The sage really is the star in this gravy, so don't leave it out. We loved it. Thanks for the quick-save breakfast and a keeper of a recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome comfort food! The first time I told my husband I was making this dish, he totally turned his nose up at it. After he tried it, he loved it. Now he begs for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States